The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
West Indies

U.S. consular officials in Bahamas

   Abaco: Uriah Saunders (Consular Agent as of 1871)
   Albert Town: C. C. Eldgert (Consular Agent as of 1884) — Howard H. Farrington (Consular Agent as of 1888-97) — José G. Maura (Consular Agent 1898-1911)
   Dunmore Town: Henry S. Higgs (Consular Agent as of 1884) — Norman E. B. Munro (Consular Agent as of 1898-99) — Samuel M. Sweeting (Consular Agent 1906-11)
   Governor's Harbour: Charles A. Bethel (Consular Agent as of 1884) — Abner W. Griffin (Consular Agent 1896-1911)
   Green Turtle Cay: William Roberts (Consular Agent as of 1884) — Edward W. Bethell (Consular Agent as of 1899)
   Matthew Town: John I. Sargent (Consular Agent 1874-85) — Daniel D. Sargent (Consular Agent as of 1899-1904) — John I. Sargent (Consular Agent 1910-11)
   Nassau: John F. Bacon (Consul 1840-42) — Timothy Darling (Consul 1842-45) — John F. Bacon (Consul 1845-50) — Julius C. Kretchmar (Consul 1850-52) — John F. Bacon (Consul 1852-53) — Timothy Darling (Consul 1853-57) — Isaac J. Merritt (Consul 1857-61) — Samuel Whiting (Consul 1861-63) — Seth C. Hawley (Consul 1863) — Thomas J. McLain, Jr. (Consul as of 1884) — Samuel P. Saunders (Vice Consul as of 1884) — Julian Potter (Consul 1903-11) — Henry Mostyn (Vice & Deputy Consul as of 1904-05) — Frank M. Menendez (Vice & Deputy Consul 1909-11) — Henry D. Baker (Consul 1912-13) — Eric V. Solomon (Vice Consul as of 1914) — William F. Doty (Consul as of 1914-17) — Richard C. Beer (Vice Consul 1917-18) — Bryan L. Vaughn (Vice Consul 1918) — Karl MacVitty (Vice Consul 1919-20) — Lorin A. Lathrop (Consul 1919-24) — Richard F. Boyce (Vice Consul 1922-23) — Richard F. Boyce (Consul 1923-24) — Sheridan Talbott (Vice Consul 1924-25) — Harry J. Anslinger (Consul 1925-26) — William A. Smale (Vice Consul as of 1926) — Charles C. Broy (Consul 1926-29) — Owen W. Gaines (Vice Consul 1926) — James Franklin Points (Vice Consul 1927-29) — Leo J. Callanan (Vice Consul 1929-30) — Fred D. Fisher (Consul 1930-32) — John H. E. McAndrews (Vice Consul 1939-45) — Temple Wanamaker, Jr. (Consul 1956-58)
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/ZZ/BI-consuls.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]