The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History

U.S. diplomatic chiefs of mission to Belgium

Hugh S. Legaré (Charge d'Affaires 1832-36) Virgil Maxcy (Charge d'Affaires 1837-42) Henry W. Hilliard (Charge d'Affaires 1842-44) Thomas Green Clemson (Charge d'Affaires 1844-51) Richard H. Bayard (Charge d'Affaires 1851-53) John Jacob Seibels (Charge d'Affaires 1853-54) John Jacob Seibels (Minister 1854-56) Elisha Y. Fair (Minister 1858-61) Henry Shelton Sanford (Minister 1861-69) J. Russel Jones (Minister 1869-75) Ayres Phillips Merrill (Minister 1876-77) W. Cassius Goodloe (Minister 1878-80) James O. Putnam (Minister 1880-82) Nicholas Fish (Minister 1882-85) Lambert Tree (Minister 1885-88) John G. Parkhurst (Minister 1888-89) Edwin Holland Terrell (Minister 1889-93) James S. Ewing (Minister 1893-97) Bellamy Storer (Minister 1897-99) Lawrence Townsend (Minister 1899-1905) Henry L. Wilson (Minister 1905-09) Charles P. Bryan (Minister 1909-11) Larz Anderson (Minister 1911-12) Theodore Marburg (Minister 1912-14) Brand Whitlock (Minister 1914-19) Brand Whitlock (Ambassador 1919-21) Henry P. Fletcher (Ambassador 1922-24) William Phillips (Ambassador 1924-27) Hugh S. Gibson (Ambassador 1927-33) Dave Hennen Morris (Ambassador 1933-37) Hugh S. Gibson (Ambassador 1937-38) Joseph E. Davies (Ambassador 1938-39) John Cudahy (Ambassador 1940) A. J. Drexel Biddle, Jr. (Ambassador 1941-43) Charles W. Sawyer (Ambassador 1944-45) Alan G. Kirk (Ambassador 1946-49) Robert D. Murphy (Ambassador 1949-52) Myron M. Cowen (Ambassador 1952-53) Frederick M. Alger, Jr. (Ambassador 1953-57) John Clifford Folger (Ambassador 1957-59) William A. M. Burden (Ambassador 1959-61) Douglas MacArthur II (Ambassador 1961-65) Ridgway B. Knight (Ambassador 1965-69) John Sheldon Doud Eisenhower (Ambassador 1969-71) Robert Strausz-Hupé (Ambassador 1972-74) Leonard K. Firestone (Ambassador 1974-77) Anne Cox Chambers (Ambassador 1977-81) Charles H. Price II (Ambassador 1981-83) Geoffrey Swaebe (Ambassador 1983-88) Maynard Wayne Glitman (Ambassador 1988-91) Bruce S. Gelb (Ambassador 1991-93) Alan John Blinken (Ambassador 1993-98) Paul L. Cejas (Ambassador 1998-) Stephen Brauer (Ambassador 2001)

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/ZZ/BG-diplomats.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]