The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Wyoming: Governors

Governors of Wyoming, 1890-2020 (May be incomplete!)
Francis E. Warren 1890 Amos W. Barber 1890-93 John E. Osborne 1893-95 William Alford Richards 1895-99 DeForest Richards 1899-1903 Fenimore Chatterton 1903-05 Bryant Butler Brooks 1905-11 Joseph M. Carey 1911-15 John B. Kendrick 1915-17 Frank L. Houx 1917-19 Robert D. Carey 1919-23 William Bradford Ross 1923-24 Frank E. Lucas 1924-25 Nellie Tayloe Ross 1925-27 Frank Collins Emerson 1927-31 Alonzo M. Clark 1931-33 Leslie A. Miller 1933-39 Nels H. Smith 1939-43 Lester Callaway Hunt 1943-49 A. G. Crane 1949-51 Frank A. Barrett 1951-53 C. J. Rogers 1953-55 Milward L. Simpson 1955-59 John J. Hickey 1959-61 Jack R. Gage 1961-63 Clifford P. Hansen 1963-67 Stanley K. Hathaway 1967-75 Edgar J. Herschler 1975-87 Michael J. Sullivan 1987-95 Jim Geringer 1995-2003 David D. Freudenthal 2003-11 Matt Mead 2011-19 Mark Gordon 2019-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1890: George W. Baxter, defeated.
  • 1892: Edward Ivinson, defeated; Leopold Kabis, defeated.
  • 1894: William H. Holliday (Dem), defeated; Lewis C. Tidball, defeated.
  • 1898: Horace C. Alger (Dem), defeated; DeForest Richards (Rep), elected.
  • 1902: George T. Beck (Dem), defeated.
  • 1903 Apr 28: DeForest Richards, died in office.
  • 1904: John E. Osborne, defeated.
  • 1906: Stephen A. D. Keister (Dem), defeated.
  • 1910: William E. Mullen (Rep), defeated.
  • 1914: Hilliard S. Ridgely (Rep), defeated.
  • 1918: Frank L. Houx (Dem), defeated.
  • 1922: John W. Hay (Rep), defeated.
  • 1924 Oct 2: William Bradford Ross, died in office.
  • 1924 Nov 4: Nellie Tayloe Ross (Dem), elected; Eugene J. Sullivan (Rep), defeated.
  • 1926: Nellie Tayloe Ross, defeated.
  • 1930: Leslie A. Miller, defeated.
  • 1931 Feb 18: Frank Collins Emerson, died in office.
  • 1932: Harry R. Weston, defeated; E. W. Rowell (Rep), defeated.
  • 1934: Alonzo M. Clark, defeated.
  • 1938: Leslie A. Miller, defeated.
  • 1942: Nels H. Smith, defeated.
  • 1946: Earl Wright (Rep), defeated.
  • 1950: John J. McIntyre (Dem), defeated.
  • 1954: William Jack (Dem), defeated.
  • 1958: Milward L. Simpson, defeated.
  • 1962: Jack R. Gage, defeated.
  • 1966: Ernest Wilkerson, defeated.
  • 1970: John J. Rooney (Dem), defeated.
  • 1974: Richard R. Jones (Rep), defeated.
  • 1990 Aug 21: Michael J. Sullivan (Dem), nominated; Ron Clingman (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1990 Aug 21: Mary Hansen Mead (Rep), nominated; Nyla A. Murphy (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1990 Nov 6: Michael J. Sullivan (Dem), elected; Mary Hansen Mead (Rep), defeated.
  • 1998: Philip J. Roberts (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 2010: Pete Gosar (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 2018 Nov 6: Rex Rammell (Constitution), defeated.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/WY/ofc/gov.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]