The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Wheeling, West Virginia
Mayors, City Managers, Postmasters

Mayors of Wheeling, 1863-2013 (may be incomplete!)
George Baird 1863-64 Henry Crangle 1864-65 Andrew J. Sweeney 1865-68 Sobieski Brady 1868-69 Samuel McClellan, Jr. 1869-71 George W. Jeffers 1871-75 Andrew J. Sweeney 1875-81 Alfred C. Egerter 1881-83 Jeremiah A. Miller 1883-85 Jacob W. Grubb 1885-87 Charles W. Seabright 1887-93 Benjamin F. Caldwell 1893-97 John R. Butts 1897-99 Andrew T. Sweeney 1899-1905 Charles C. Schmidt 1905-12 William O. Alexander 1912 Harvey L. Kirk 1912-17 Clifford M. Vester 1917-19 Thomas F. Thoner 1919-25 William J. Steen 1925-29 Thomas Y. Beckett 1929-32 Gordon P. Fought 1932-35 Charles F. Schultze 1935-38 John J. Mathison 1938-43 Russell B. Goodwin 1943-47 Carl G. Bachmann 1947-51 Charles J. Schuck 1951-55 Jack R. Adams 1955-59 John J. Gast 1959-63 Charles L. Ihlenfeld 1963-67 James L. Rogers 1967-71 James J. Haranzo 1971-75 John E. Fahey 1975-79 Cuyler E. Ewing 1979-81 William H. Muegge 1981-84 John W. Lipphardt 1984-85 Stella C. Koerner 1985-88 Thomas J. Baller 1988-92 John W. Lipphardt 1992-2000 Nicholas A. Sparachane 2000-08 Andy McKenzie 2008-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1912 Aug 24: Charles C. Schmidt, died in office.
  • 1938 May 8: Charles F. Schultze, died in office.

    City Managers of Wheeling, 1929-51 (may be incomplete!)
    Thomas Y. Beckett 1929-32 Gordon P. Fought 1932-35 William N. Hunter as of 1949-50 Robert L. Plummer as of 1951

    Postmasters at Wheeling, 1863-1990 (may be incomplete!)
    Archibald W. Campbell 1863-64 Theodore M. Gorrell 1864-65 Archibald W. Campbell 1865-66 Odell S. Long 1866-67 Charles J. Rawling 1867-79 Hugh Sterling 1879-85 Robert Simpson 1885-89 William J. W. Cowden 1889-93 Michael J. O'Kane 1893-97 George Wise 1897-1902 James K. Hall 1902-11 Robert Hazlett 1911-14 A. H. Wiedebusch 1914 James W. Ewing 1914 William W. Irwin 1914-23 Willis H. Marshall 1923 Willis H. Marshall 1923-24 Charles F. Schultze 1924-25 August E. Marschner 1925-29 Fred E. Cowl 1929 Fred E. Cowl 1929-33 William H. Hornish 1933-34 William L. Brice 1934-42 Forest L. Perkins 1942-44 John J. Mathison 1944-62 George A. Fahey 1962-65 George A. Fahey 1965-90

    (became part of West Virginia 1863)

    Mayors of Wheeling, 1806-63 (may be incomplete!)
    George Miller 1806-07 Moses Chapline 1807-09 William Irwin 1809-10 Noah Linsly 1810-14 William Irwin 1814 George Knox 1815-16 William Irwin 1816-17 Peter Yarnell 1817-19 Moses Chapline 1819-20 Moses W. Chapline 1820-24 Zachariah Jacob 1824-28 Samuel Sprigg 1828 John McLure 1828-30 Moses W. Chapline 1830-34 Zachariah Jacob 1834-36 Moses W. Chapline 1836-40 George Dulty 1840-46 Moses C. Good 1846-47 William W. Shriver 1847-48 Sobieski Brady 1848-50 Alfred Caldwell 1850-52 Morgan Nelson 1852-53 Sobieski Brady 1853-55 James Paull 1855 Andrew J. Sweeney 1855-56 Alfred Caldwell 1856-58 James Tanner 1858-59 Andrew Wilson 1859-61 Andrew J. Sweeney 1861-63

    Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1814 Sep 26: William Irwin, resigned.
  • 1828 Sep 28: Samuel Sprigg, resigned.

    (became part of West Virginia 1863)

    Postmasters at Wheeling, 1794-1863 (may be incomplete!)
    John Finley 1794-95 John McIntire 1795-98 Andrew Woods 1798-1810 Richard McClure 1810-38 George W. Thompson 1838-41 David Agnew 1841-45 Isaih B. B. Hale 1845-46 Alexander Newman 1846-49 George W. Clutter 1849 James E. Wharton 1849-50 Jacob S. Shriver 1850-53 George A. Cracraft 1853-57 Hugh F. Feeney 1857-61 Archibald W. Campbell 1861-63

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/WV/ofc/wheeling.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]