The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
West Virginia: State Treasurers

West Virginia State Treasurers, 1863-2012 (May be incomplete!)
Campbell Tarr 1863-67 Jacob H. Brister 1867-69 James A. Macauley 1869-71 John S. Burdett 1871-76 Sobieski Brady 1876-77 Thomas J. West 1877-81 Thomas O'Brien 1881-85 William T. Thompson 1885-93 John M. Rowan 1893-97 M. A. Kendall 1897-1901 Peter Silman 1901-05 Newton Ogden 1905-09 E. Leslie Long 1909-17 W. S. Johnson 1917-33 Richard E. Talbott 1933- William H. Ansel, Jr. 1949-51 John H. Kelly 1961-69 A. James Manchin 1985-89 Thomas E. Loehr 1989

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1863 May 28: Campbell Tarr (Rep), elected unopposed.
  • 1916 Nov 7: W. S. Johnson (Rep), elected.
  • 1920: Anderson C. Herold (Dem), defeated.
  • 1920 Nov 2: W. S. Johnson (Rep), elected.
  • 1924 Nov 4: W. S. Johnson (Rep), elected.
  • 1928 Nov 6: W. S. Johnson (Rep), elected.
  • 1936 Nov 3: Richard E. Talbott (Dem), elected; Enoch P. Ellison (Rep), defeated.
  • 1940 Nov 5: Richard E. Talbott (Dem), elected; Hal F. Morris (Rep), defeated.
  • 1944 Nov 7: Richard E. Talbott (Dem), elected; Edgar C. Lawson (Rep), defeated.
  • 1948 Nov 2: Richard E. Talbott (Dem), elected; Hubert R. Lake (Rep), defeated.
  • 1949 Dec 19: William H. Ansel, Jr., appointed.
  • 1950 Nov 7: William H. Ansel, Jr. (Dem), elected.
  • 1956 Nov 6: Orel J. Skeen (Dem), elected; Theodore T. Dormon (Rep), defeated.
  • 1960 Nov 8: John H. Kelly (Dem), elected; Martin V. Chapman (Rep), defeated.
  • 1968 Nov 5: John H. Kelly (Dem), elected; J. Kenton Lambert (Rep), defeated.
  • 1972 Nov 7: John H. Kelly (Dem), elected; Latelle M. LaFollette III (Rep), defeated.
  • 1976 Nov 2: Larrie Bailey (Dem), elected; Ronald G. Pearson (Rep), defeated.
  • 1980 Nov 4: Larrie Bailey (Dem), elected; David Bailey (Rep), defeated.
  • 1984 Nov 6: A. James Manchin (Dem), elected; Manuel Hale (Rep), defeated.
  • 1989 Jul 9: A. James Manchin, resigned.
  • 1990: Dee Caperton, defeated.
  • 1990 Nov 6: Larrie Bailey (Dem), elected; Elvin F. Martin (Rep), defeated.
  • 1996: Stan Klos (Rep), defeated.
  • 2004 Nov 2: John D. Perdue (Dem), elected; Bob Adams (Rep), defeated.
  • 2012 Nov 6: John D. Perdue (Dem), elected; Mike Hall (Rep), defeated.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/WV/ofc/trea.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]