The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
West Virginia: Secretaries of State

West Virginia Secretaries of State, 1863-2012 (May be incomplete!)
Jacob Edgar Boyers 1863-65 Granville D. Hall 1865-67 John S. Witcher 1867-69 James M. Pipes 1869-71 John M. Phelps 1871-73 Charles Hedrick 1873-77 Sobieski Brady 1877-81 Randolph Stalnaker 1881-85 Henry S. Walker 1885-90 William A. Ohley 1890-93 William E. Chilton 1893-97 William M. O. Dawson 1897-1905 Charles Wesley Swisher 1905-09 Stuart F. Reed 1909-17 Houston G. Young 1917-25 George W. Sharp 1925-33 William S. O'Brien 1933-48 Joe F. Burdett 1959-63 Robert D. Bailey 1965-67 Jay Rockefeller 1969-72 A. James Manchin 1976-84 Ken Hechler 1985-2000 Joe Manchin 2001-05 Betty S. Ireland 2005-09

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1863 May 28: Jacob Edgar Boyers (Rep), elected unopposed.
  • 1936 Nov 3: William S. O'Brien (Dem), elected; Phil M. Conley (Rep), defeated.
  • 1940 Nov 5: William S. O'Brien (Dem), elected; Mrs. Chauncey D. Hinerman (Rep), defeated.
  • 1944 Nov 7: William S. O'Brien (Dem), elected; Phil M. Conley (Rep), defeated.
  • 1948 Aug 10: William S. O'Brien, died in office.
  • 1948 Nov 2: D. Pitt O'Brien (Dem), elected; A. Sweeney Fleming (Rep), defeated.
  • 1956 Nov 6: D. Pitt O'Brien (Dem), elected; Holt Byrne (Rep), defeated.
  • 1958 Nov 4: Joe F. Burdett (Dem), elected; Helen Holt (Rep), defeated.
  • 1960 Nov 8: Joe F. Burdett (Dem), elected; Carl E. Weimer (Rep), defeated.
  • 1965 May 17: Robert D. Bailey, appointed.
  • 1966 Nov 8: Robert D. Bailey (Dem), elected; John S. Callebs (Rep), defeated.
  • 1968 Nov 5: Jay Rockefeller (Dem), elected; John S. Callebs (Rep), defeated.
  • 1972 Nov 7: Edgar F. Heiskell III (Rep), elected; Thomas A. Winner (Dem), defeated.
  • 1976: Phyllis E. Given (Dem), defeated.
  • 1976 Nov 2: A. James Manchin (Dem), elected; James R. McCartney (Rep), defeated.
  • 1980 Nov 4: A. James Manchin (Dem), elected; Dee Brown (Rep), defeated.
  • 1984 Nov 6: Ken Hechler (Dem), elected; Michele Golden (Rep), defeated.
  • 1988: Ken Hechler (Dem), elected.
  • 1992: Ken Hechler (Dem), elected.
  • 1996: Ken Hechler (Dem), elected.
  • 2000: Joe Manchin (Dem), elected.
  • 2004 Nov 2: Betty S. Ireland (Rep), elected; Ken Hechler (Dem), defeated.
  • 2012 Nov 6: Natalie E. Tennant (Dem), elected; Brian Savilla (Rep), defeated.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/WV/ofc/sos.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]