The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
West Virginia: Governors

Governors of West Virginia, 1863-2019 (May be incomplete!)
Arthur I. Boreman 1863-69 Daniel D. T. Farnsworth 1869 William E. Stevenson 1869-71 John J. Jacob 1871-77 Henry Mason Mathews 1877-81 Jacob B. Jackson 1881-85 E. Willis Wilson 1885-90 Aretas Brooks Fleming 1890-93 William A. MacCorkle 1893-97 George W. Atkinson 1897-1901 Albert B. White 1901-05 William M. O. Dawson 1905-09 William E. Glasscock 1909-13 Henry D. Hatfield 1913-17 John J. Cornwell 1917-21 Ephraim F. Morgan 1921-25 Howard M. Gore 1925-29 William G. Conley 1929-33 Herman Guy Kump 1933-37 Homer A. Holt 1937-41 Matthew M. Neely 1941-45 Clarence W. Meadows 1945-49 Okey L. Patteson 1949-53 William C. Marland 1953-57 Cecil H. Underwood 1957-61 W. Wallace Barron 1961-65 Hulett C. Smith 1965-69 Arch A. Moore, Jr. 1969-77 Jay Rockefeller 1977-85 Arch A. Moore, Jr. 1985-89 Gaston Caperton 1989-97 Cecil H. Underwood 1997-2001 Bob Wise 2001-05 Joe Manchin 2005-10 Earl Ray Tomblin 2010-17 Jim Justice 2017-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1863 May 28: Arthur I. Boreman (Rep), elected unopposed.
  • 1866: Benjamin H. Smith, defeated.
  • 1868: Johnson N. Camden, defeated.
  • 1870: William E. Stevenson, defeated.
  • 1872: Johnson N. Camden, defeated.
  • 1876: Nathan Goff, Jr. (Rep), defeated.
  • 1880: George C. Sturgiss, defeated.
  • 1884: Thomas R. Carskadon (Prohibition), defeated; Edwin Maxwell, defeated.
  • 1888: Nathan Goff, Jr. (Rep), defeated; Thomas R. Carskadon (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1892: Thomas E. Davis (Rep), defeated.
  • 1896: Cornelius C. Watts, defeated.
  • 1900: John H. Holt (Dem), defeated.
  • 1904: John J. Cornwell (Dem), defeated.
  • 1908: Bennett (Dem), defeated.
  • 1912: W. R. Thompson, defeated.
  • 1916: Robinson, defeated.
  • 1920 Nov 2: Samuel B. Montgomery, defeated; Arthur B. Koontz (Dem), defeated.
  • 1924: Edward T. England (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1924 Nov 4: Howard M. Gore (Rep), elected; Jake Fisher (Dem), defeated; A. S. Bosworth (Socialist), defeated.
  • 1928: J. Alfred Taylor (Dem), defeated.
  • 1928 May 29: William G. Conley (Rep), nominated.
  • 1928 Nov 6: William G. Conley (Rep), elected.
  • 1932: T. C. Townsend (Rep), defeated.
  • 1936 Nov 3: Homer A. Holt (Dem), elected; Summers H. Sharp (Rep), defeated.
  • 1940 May 14: Matthew M. Neely (Dem), nominated; R. Carl Andrews (Dem), defeated in primary; R. Hugh Jarvis (Dem), defeated in primary; Elmer A. Jones (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1940 May 14: D. Boone Dawson (Rep), nominated; Lewis H. Miller (Rep), defeated in primary; David B. Ealy (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1940 Nov 5: Matthew M. Neely (Dem), elected; D. Boone Dawson (Rep), defeated.
  • 1944: Rush D. Holt, defeated for nomination.
  • 1944: R. D. Bailey (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1944 Nov 7: Clarence W. Meadows (Dem), elected; D. Boone Dawson (Rep), defeated.
  • 1948 Nov 2: Okey L. Patteson (Dem), elected; Herbert S. Boreman (Rep), defeated.
  • 1952: E. H. Hedrick (Dem), defeated in primary; R. D. Bailey (Dem), defeated in primary; Cyrus S. Kump (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1952: Rush D. Holt, defeated.
  • 1956 Nov 6: Cecil H. Underwood (Rep), elected; Bob Mollohan (Dem), defeated.
  • 1960: Chapman Revercomb, defeated for nomination.
  • 1960 Nov 8: W. Wallace Barron (Dem), elected; Harold E. Neely (Rep), defeated.
  • 1964: Cecil H. Underwood, defeated.
  • 1968 Nov 5: Arch A. Moore, Jr. (Rep), elected; James M. Sprouse (Dem), defeated.
  • 1972 Nov 7: Arch A. Moore, Jr. (Rep), elected; Jay Rockefeller (Dem), defeated.
  • 1976 Nov 2: Jay Rockefeller (Dem), elected; Cecil H. Underwood (Rep), defeated.
  • 1980 Nov 4: Jay Rockefeller (Dem), elected; Arch A. Moore, Jr. (Rep), defeated; Jack K. Kelley (Libertarian), defeated.
  • 1984 Nov 6: Arch A. Moore, Jr. (Rep), elected; Clyde M. See, Jr. (Dem), defeated.
  • 1988: Arch A. Moore, Jr. (Rep), defeated; Gus R. Douglass, defeated.
  • 1992: Cleveland K. Benedict (Rep), defeated.
  • 1996: Joe Manchin (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1996: David B. McKinley (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1996: Cecil H. Underwood (Rep), elected.
  • 2000: Bob Wise (Dem), elected; Cecil H. Underwood (Rep), defeated.
  • 2004 May 11: Richard A. Robb (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 2004 Nov 2: Joe Manchin (Dem), elected; Monty Warner (Rep), defeated; Jesse Johnson (Mountain), defeated; Simon McClure, defeated.
  • 2011 Oct 4: Earl Ray Tomblin (Dem), elected; Bill Maloney (Rep), defeated; Bob Henry Baber (Mountain), defeated; Marla Dee Ingels (Ind), defeated; Harry V. Bertram (American Third Position), defeated; Phil Hudok, defeated; Donald Lee Underwood, defeated; John R. Bartlett, defeated.
  • 2012 Nov 6: Earl Ray Tomblin (Dem), elected; Bill Maloney (Rep), defeated; Jesse Johnson (Mountain), defeated; David Moran (Libertarian), defeated.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/WV/ofc/gov.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]