The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Beckley, West Virginia

Mayors of Beckley, 1903-2014 (may be incomplete!)
John H. Hatcher as of 1903 Joe L. Smith as of 1904-09 J. A. Campbell as of 1919 George W. Blair, Jr. as of 1929 A. Z. Lilly as of 1934 Robert Wriston as of 1935-37 A. K. Minter as of 1938-43 Robert Wriston as of 1944-45 W. A. 'Gene' Burke 1946-48 Grover C. Hedrick as of 1948-49 W. A. 'Gene' Burke 1950-51 George B. Chambers as of 1951-53 Elmer L. Danis as of 1954 A. K. Minter as of 1955 Cecil L. Miller as of 1959-63 John W. Smith as of 1964-69 John McCulloch as of 1970-82 Charles F. Shoemaker as of 1983-87 Emmett S. Pugh 1988-2013 Bill O'Brien 2014-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 2011 May 10: Emmett S. Pugh, elected; Tony Martin, defeated.

    Postmasters at Beckley, 1897-1969 (may be incomplete!)
    George W. Cook 1897-1901 John Anderson 1901-05 Thomas J. Honaker 1905-07 Thaddeus K. Scott 1907-16 Malichi J. Meadows 1916-20 Isaac E. McKinney 1920-21 George H. Mellen 1921-22 George H. Mellen 1922-26 Alfred M. McKinney 1926 Alfred M. McKinney 1926-31 Enoch L. Ellison 1931-32 Enoch L. Ellison 1932-36 John T. Hollandsworth, Jr. 1936-51 Ildon E. Rorrer 1951-53 A. Fray Lilly 1953-54 A. Fray Lilly 1954-69

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/WV/ofc/beckley.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]