The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
West Virginia: State Auditors

West Virginia State Auditors, 1863-2013 (May be incomplete!)
Samuel Crane 1863-65 Joseph McWhorter 1865-69 Thomas Boggess 1869-71 Edward A. Bennett 1871-77 Joseph S. Miller 1877-85 Patrick Fee Duffy 1885-93 Isaac V. Johnson 1893-97 L. M. LaFollette 1897-1901 Arnold C. Scherr 1901-09 John S. Darst 1909-21 John C. Bond 1921-27 Sam C. Mallison 1927-29 Edgar C. Lawson 1929-33 Edgar B. Sims 1933- Denzil L. Gainer 1961-72 Glen B. Gainer, Jr. 1977-93 Glen B. Gainer III 1993-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1863 May 28: Samuel Crane (Rep), elected unopposed.
  • 1888: George M. Bowers, defeated.
  • 1900: James H. Miller (Dem), defeated.
  • 1927 Mar 15: John C. Bond, resigned.
  • 1927 Mar 18: Sam C. Mallison, appointed.
  • 1936 Nov 3: Edgar B. Sims (Dem), elected; Vernon L. Johnson (Rep), defeated.
  • 1940 Nov 5: Edgar B. Sims (Dem), elected; Allison S. Fleming (Rep), defeated.
  • 1944 Nov 7: Edgar B. Sims (Dem), elected; A. Sweeney Fleming (Rep), defeated.
  • 1948 Nov 2: Edgar B. Sims (Dem), elected; Russell R. Bell (Rep), defeated.
  • 1952: Brad Sayre (Rep), defeated.
  • 1956 Nov 6: Edgar B. Sims (Dem), elected; E. Ray Reed (Rep), defeated.
  • 1960 Nov 8: Denzil L. Gainer (Dem), elected; Litz McGuire (Rep), defeated.
  • 1968 Nov 5: Denzil L. Gainer (Dem), elected; Robert R. Cochrane (Rep), defeated.
  • 1972 Nov 7: John M. Gates (Rep), elected; Denzil L. Gainer (Dem), defeated.
  • 1976 Nov 2: Glen B. Gainer, Jr. (Dem), elected; John M. Gates (Rep), defeated.
  • 1980 Nov 4: Glen B. Gainer, Jr. (Dem), elected; David Walkup (Rep), defeated.
  • 1984 Nov 6: Glen B. Gainer, Jr. (Dem), elected; William D. Bone (Rep), defeated.
  • 1992: Mark Anthony Manchin (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1992 Nov 3: Glen B. Gainer III, elected.
  • 1996 Nov 5: Glen B. Gainer III, elected.
  • 2000 Nov 7: Glen B. Gainer III, elected.
  • 2004 Nov 2: Glen B. Gainer III (Dem), elected; Lisa Thornburg (Rep), defeated.
  • 2012 Nov 6: Glen B. Gainer III (Dem), elected; Larry V. Faircloth (Rep), defeated.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/WV/ofc/aud.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]