The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
U.S. District Court in Wisconsin

U.S. District Judges for Wisconsin, 1848-70 (may be incomplete!)
Andrew G. Miller 1848-70

U.S. District Judges for the Eastern District of Wisconsin, 1870-2017 (may be incomplete!)
Andrew G. Miller 1870-73 James H. Howe 1873 Charles E. Dyer 1875-88 James G. Jenkins 1888-93 William Henry Seaman 1893-1905 Ferdinand August Geiger 1912-39 F. Ryan Duffy 1939-49 Kenneth Philip Grubb 1955-65 John W. Reynolds, Jr. 1965-86 Robert W. Warren 1974-91 Terence Thomas Evans 1979-95 Thomas John Curran 1983-97 Joseph P. Stadtmueller 1987- Rudolph Thomas Randa 1992-2016 Charles N. Clevert, Jr. 1996-2012 Lynn S. Adelman 1997-

Officeholding Events (may be incomplete!)

  • 1873 Jan 1: Andrew G. Miller, retired.
  • 1888 May 18: Charles E. Dyer, resigned.
  • 1939 May 22: Ferdinand August Geiger, retired.
  • 1965 Oct 8: Kenneth Philip Grubb, retired.
  • 1997 Jan 1: Thomas John Curran, took senior status.
  • 2012 Oct 31: Charles N. Clevert, Jr., took senior status.
  • 2016 Feb 5: Rudolph Thomas Randa, took senior status.

    U.S. District Judges for the Western District of Wisconsin, 1870-2010 (may be incomplete!)
    James C. Hopkins 1870-77 Romanzo Bunn 1877-1905 Arthur Loomis Sanborn 1905-20 Claude Zeth Luse 1921 Patrick T. Stone 1933-63 James E. Doyle 1965-80 Barbara Brandriff Crabb 1979-2010 John C. Shabaz 1981-2009

    Officeholding Events (may be incomplete!)

  • 1877 Sep 3: James C. Hopkins, died in office.
  • 1905 Jan 9: Romanzo Bunn, retired.
  • 1920 Oct 18: Arthur Loomis Sanborn, died in office.
  • 1963 Jan 13: Patrick T. Stone, died in office.
  • 2009 Jan 20: John C. Shabaz, took senior status.
  • 2010 Mar 24: Barbara Brandriff Crabb, took senior status.
    "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/WI/ofc/usdjud.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]