The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Wisconsin: Secretaries of State

Wisconsin Secretaries of State, 1848-2000 (May be incomplete!)
Thomas McHugh 1848-50 William A. Barstow 1850-52 Charles D. Robinson 1852-54 Alexander T. Gray 1854-56 David W. Jones 1856-60 Louis P. Harvey 1860-62 James T. Lewis 1862-64 Lucius Fairchild 1864-66 Thomas S. Allen 1866-70 Llywelyn Breese 1870-74 Peter Doyle 1874-78 Hans B. Warner 1878-82 Ernst G. Timme 1882-91 Thomas J. Cunningham 1891-95 Henry Casson 1895-99 William H. Froehlich 1899-1903 Walter L. Houser 1903-07 James A. Frear 1907-13 John S. Donald 1913-17 Merlin Hull 1917-21 Elmer S. Hall 1921-23 Fred R. Zimmerman 1923-27 Theodore Dammann 1927-35 Theodore Dammann 1935-39 Fred R. Zimmerman 1939-54 Louis Allis 1954-55 Mrs. Glenn M. Wise 1955-57 Robert C. Zimmerman 1957-75 Douglas J. LaFollette 1975-79 Vel R. Phillips 1979-83 Douglas J. LaFollette 1983-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1902: Walter L. Houser (Rep), elected.
  • 1922 Nov 7: Fred R. Zimmerman (Rep), elected; Mathilda Boorman (Socialist), defeated; Peter S. Brzonkala (Independent Democratic), defeated; Maria I. A. Nelsen (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1924 Nov 4: Fred R. Zimmerman (Rep), elected; John M. Callahan (Dem), defeated; Ida Fenske (Socialist), defeated; Richard Koeppel (Socialist Labor), defeated; Oliver Needham (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1938: Fred R. Zimmerman (Rep), elected.
  • 1954 Dec 14: Fred R. Zimmerman, died in office.
  • 1956 Nov 6: Robert C. Zimmerman (Rep), elected; Marguerite R. Benson (Dem), defeated.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/WI/ofc/sos.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]