The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Green Bay, Wisconsin
including Fort Howard
Mayors, Postmasters

Mayors of Green Bay, 1854-2022 (may be incomplete!)
William C. E. Thomas 1854 Francis Desnoyers 1855 H. E. Eastman 1856-58 Henry S. Baird 1861-62 Myron P. Lindsley 1865 William J. Abrams 1881-82 John H. M. Wigman 1882-83 William J. Abrams 1883-85 Frank B. Desnoyers 1896-98 Winford Abrams 1908-16 Elmer S. Hall 1916-20 Winford Abrams 1921 Wenzel Wiesner 1921-22 John V. Diener 1929-37 John S. Farrell 1937-38 Alexander Biemeret 1938-45 Dominic Olejniczak 1945-55 Otto Rachals 1955-59 Roman P. Denissen 1959-65 Donald A. Tilleman 1965-72 Harris Burgoyne 1972-73 Thomas G. Atkinson 1973-75 Michael R. Monfils 1975-79 Samuel J. Halloin 1979-95 Paul F. Jadin 1995-2003 Jim Schmitt 2003-19 Eric Genrich 2019-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1916 Mar 21: Elmer S. Hall, nominated; Winford Abrams, nominated; Frank R. Weeks, defeated in primary; William C. Ornstein, defeated in primary.
  • 1916 Apr 4: Elmer S. Hall, elected; Winford Abrams, defeated.
  • 1921 Apr 5: Wenzel Wiesner, elected; Ferdinand J. Colignon, defeated.
  • 1922 Apr 4: Wenzel Wiesner, elected; George A. Green, defeated.
  • 1937 Apr 6: John S. Farrell, elected; John V. Diener, defeated.
  • 1939: Alexander Biemeret, elected.
  • 1955: Otto Rachals, elected.
  • 1957: Otto Rachals, elected.
  • 1959: Roman P. Denissen, elected; Otto Rachals, defeated.
  • 1963: Donald A. Tilleman, defeated.
  • 1965: Donald A. Tilleman, elected; Roman P. Denissen, defeated.
  • 1967: Donald A. Tilleman, elected.
  • 1971: Donald A. Tilleman, elected.
  • 1972: Donald A. Tilleman, died in office.
  • 1973: Thomas G. Atkinson, elected; Harris Burgoyne, defeated.
  • 1979: Thomas G. Atkinson, defeated.
  • 1987: Thomas G. Atkinson, defeated.
  • 1995: Paul F. Jadin, elected.
  • 2003 Apr 1: Jim Schmitt, elected.

    Postmasters at Green Bay, 1834-1986 (may be incomplete!)
    Joseph Dickinson 1834-37 Joel S. Fisk 1837-40 Thomas Green 1840-43 Alexander J. Irwin 1843-45 Joel S. Fisk 1845-47 Edward Hicks 1847-49 Daniel W. King 1849-53 Edward Hicks 1853-61 William J. Green 1861-62 Daniel M. Whitney 1862-66 Edward Hicks 1866-67 Charles R. Tyler 1867-72 William C. E. Thomas 1872-76 Alonzo W. Kimball 1876-84 Willard C. Bailey 1884-87 Albert C. Robinson 1887-92 Gustav Küstermann 1892-96 Eleaser H. Ellis 1896-1900 Frederick A. Hollman 1900-08 Albert G. Kurz 1908-12 James Elmore 1912-14 Otto Giesler 1914 William L. Evans 1914-23 John S. Farrell 1923-36 John J. Brogan 1936-44 William S. Sinkler 1944-46 William S. Sinkler 1946-64 J. H. Rossmeisl 1964-65 John N. Brady 1965-66 George E. P. Farah 1966-86

    Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1876 Aug 13: William C. E. Thomas, died in office.

    Fort Howard
    (annexed to Green Bay 1895)

    Postmasters at Fort Howard, 1887-91 (may be incomplete!)
    Peter V. Cottrell as of 1887 James Tiernan as of 1891

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/WI/ofc/greenbay.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]