The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Wisconsin: State Attorneys General

Wisconsin State Attorneys General, 1848-2012 (May be incomplete!)
James S. Brown 1848-50 S. Park Coon 1850-52 Experience Estabrook 1852-54 George B. Smith 1854-56 William R. Smith 1856-58 Gabriel Bouck 1858-60 James H. Howe 1860-62 Winfield Smith 1862-66 Charles R. Gill 1866-70 Stephen S. Barlow 1870-74 A. Scott Sloan 1874-78 Alexander Wilson 1878-82 Leander F. Frisbie 1882-87 Charles E. Estabrook 1887-91 James L. O'Connor 1891-95 William H. Mylrea 1895-99 Emmett R. Hicks 1899-1903 Lafayette M. Sturdevant 1903-07 Frank L. Gilbert 1907-11 Levi H. Bancroft 1911-13 Walter C. Owen 1913-18 Spencer Haven 1918-19 John J. Blaine 1919-21 William J. Morgan 1921-23 Herman L. Ekern 1923-27 John W. Reynolds, Sr. 1927-33 James E. Finnegan 1933-37 Orland S. Loomis 1937-39 John E. Martin 1939-48 Grover L. Broadfoot 1948 Thomas E. Fairchild 1948-51 Vernon W. Thomson 1951-57 Stewart G. Honeck 1957-59 John W. Reynolds, Jr. 1959-63 George Thompson 1963-65 Bronson C. LaFollette 1965-69 Robert W. Warren 1969-74 Victor A. Miller 1974 Bronson C. LaFollette 1974-87 Don Hanaway 1987-91 James E. Doyle 1991-2003 Peg Lautenschlager 2003-07 J. B. Van Hollen 2007-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1879: John Montgomery Smith (Dem), defeated.
  • 1886: Eugene W. Chafin (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1900: Eugene W. Chafin (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1902: Lafayette M. Sturdevant (Rep), elected.
  • 1922 Nov 7: Herman L. Ekern (Rep), elected; Jeremiah F. Collins (Independent Democratic), defeated; Charles L. Allen (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1924 Nov 4: Herman L. Ekern (Rep), elected; J. Allan Simpson (Dem), defeated; Robert A. Hess (Socialist), defeated; G. Bauman (Socialist Labor), defeated; Mathew Mott (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1938 Nov 8: John E. Martin, elected.
  • 1940 Nov 5: John E. Martin, elected.
  • 1948: Thomas E. Fairchild (Dem), elected.
  • 1948 Jun 1: John E. Martin, resigned.
  • 1948 Jun 5: Grover L. Broadfoot, appointed.
  • 1950 Nov 7: Vernon W. Thomson (Rep), elected.
  • 1952 Nov 4: Vernon W. Thomson (Rep), elected.
  • 1956 Nov 6: Stewart G. Honeck (Rep), elected; Robert LaFollette Sucher (Dem), defeated; Frank L. Nikolay (Ind), defeated.
  • 2006: Peg Lautenschlager (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/WI/ofc/attygn.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]