The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
U.S. District Attorneys in Washington

U.S. District Attorneys for Washington, 1853-1906 (may be incomplete!)
John S. Clendenin 1853-55 B. F. Kendall 1855-57 Joseph S. Smith 1857-59 J. S. M. Van Cleave 1859-60 Butler G. Anderson 1860-61 John J. McGilvra 1861 Leander Holmes 1870 Samuel C. Wingard 1872 John B. Allen 1875-85 William H. White 1885-90 Patrick H. Winston 1890 William H. Brinker 1893-97 Wilson R. Gay 1897-98 Jesse A. Frye 1902-06

U.S. District Attorneys for Washington, 1905-94 (may be incomplete!)
George A. Avery 1905-10 Joseph B. Lindsley 1910 Oscar Cain 1910-14 Francis A. Garrecht 1914-21 Frank R. Jeffrey 1921-25 Donald F. Kizer 1925-26 Roy C. Fox 1926-34 James M. Simpson 1934-37 Sam M. Driver 1937-40 Lyle D. Keith 1940-42 Edward M. Connelly 1942-46 Harvey Erickson 1946-53 William B. Bantz 1953-58 Ronald R. Hull 1958 Dale M. Green 1958-61 Frank R. Freeman 1961-66 Smithmoore P. Myers 1966-69 Dean C. Smith 1969-77 Robert S. Linnell 1977 James J. Gillespie 1977-81 John E. Lamp 1981-91 William D. Hyslop 1991-93 Carroll D. Gray 1993 James P. Connelly 1993-94

U.S. District Attorneys for Washington, 1906-94 (may be incomplete!)
Peter C. Sullivan 1906-07 Elmer E. Todd 1907-12 W. G. McLaren 1912 Beverly W. Coiner 1912-13 Charles F. Riddell 1913 Clay Allen 1913-18 Ben L. Moore 1918 Robert C. Saunders 1918-21 Thomas P. Revelle 1921-28 Anthony Savage 1928-34 J. Charles Dennis 1934-53 Charles P. Moriarty 1953-61 Brock Adams 1961-64 William N. Goodwin 1964-66 Robert C. Williams 1966 Eugene C. Cushing 1966-69 Stanley G. Pitkin 1969-76 J. Ronald Sim 1976-77 John C. Merkel, Jr. 1977-81 Gene S. Anderson 1981-88 David E. Wilson 1988-89 Michael D. McKay 1989-93 Susan L. Barnes 1993 Katrina C. Pflaumer 1994
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/WA/ofc/usatty.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]