The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Washington: State Supreme Court

Justices of the Washington State Supreme Court, 1889-2012 (May be incomplete!)
Ralph O. Dunbar 1889-1901 John P. Hoyt as of 1890-97 Emmett N. Parker 1909-33 Mack F. Gose 1910 John F. Main 1912-31 Oscar Raymond Holcomb 1915-27 J. Stanley Webster 1916-18 Kenneth Mackintosh 1918-28 Jesse B. Bridges 1919-27 Chester Ralph Hovey 1921 William D. Askren 1925-28 Mark A. Fullerton as of 1926-31 John R. Mitchell as of 1926-31 Warren W. Tolman as of 1926-31 Walter M. French 1927-30 Oscar Raymond Holcomb 1927-31 Walter B. Beals 1928-36 William J. Millard 1928-31 Adam Beeler 1930-31 Clyde G. Jeffers 1939-48 Sam M. Driver 1940-46 Thomas E. Grady 1942-45 Thomas E. Grady 1949- Robert T. Hunter as of 1957-77 Robert F. Brachtenbach as of 1972-94 Tom Chambers 2001-12

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1921 Sep 7: Chester Ralph Hovey, appointed.
  • 1927 Apr 14: Jesse B. Bridges, died in office.
  • 1928 Apr 15: Kenneth Mackintosh, resigned; Walter B. Beals, appointed.
  • 1928 Dec 1: William D. Askren, resigned; William J. Millard, appointed.
  • 1930 Sep 13: Walter M. French, died in office.
  • 1930 Sep 30: Adam Beeler, appointed.
  • 1996: Douglas Smith, defeated.
  • 1998: Douglas Smith, defeated.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/WA/ofc/spju.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]