The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
U.S. District Court in Vermont

U.S. District Judges for Vermont, 1791-2017 (may be incomplete!)
Nathaniel Chipman 1791 David Allen Smalley 1857-77 Hoyt H. Wheeler 1877- James L. Martin 1906-15 Harland B. Howe 1923 James P. Leamy 1940-49 Ernest William Gibson 1950-69 Bernard Joseph Leddy 1966-72 James L. Oakes 1970 James Stuart Holden 1971-84 Albert Wheeler Coffrin 1972-89 Franklin S. Billings, Jr. 1984-94 Fred I. Parker 1990-94 John Garvan Murtha 1995-2009 William K. Sessions III 1995-2014 Geoffrey William Crawford 2014-

Officeholding Events (may be incomplete!)

  • 1877 Mar 10: David Allen Smalley, died in office.
  • 1915 Jan 14: James L. Martin, died in office.
  • 1972 Jan 9: Bernard Joseph Leddy, died in office.
  • 1984 Jan 29: James Stuart Holden, took senior status.
  • 1989 Jan 31: Albert Wheeler Coffrin, took senior status.
  • 1994 Sep 9: Franklin S. Billings, Jr., took senior status.
  • 2009 Jun 30: John Garvan Murtha, took senior status.
  • 2014 Jun 15: William K. Sessions III, took senior status.
    "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/VT/ofc/usdjud.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]