The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Vermont: House Speakers

Speakers of the Vermont State House of Representatives, 1813-1974 (May be incomplete!)
Daniel Chipman 1813-14 Richard Skinner 1818 D. Azro A. Buck 1820-22 D. Azro A. Buck 1825-26 D. Azro A. Buck 1829 Carlos Coolidge 1836-37 Solomon Foot 1838 George F. Edmunds 1857-59 John W. Stewart 1865-67 Charles H. Joyce 1870-71 Franklin Fairbanks 1872-73 Josiah Grout 1874 John W. Stewart 1876 James L. Martin 1878-82 Josiah Grout 1886-88 William Wallace Stickney 1892-96 Kittredge Haskins 1898-1900 Charles A. Plumley 1912-15 Charles S. Dana 1917-19 Franklin S. Billings 1921-23 George D. Aiken 1933-35 Mortimer R. Proctor 1937 Asa S. Bloomer 1943 Winston L. Prouty 1947 F. Ray Keyser, Jr. 1959-60 Franklin S. Billings, Jr. 1963-66 Richard W. Mallary 1966-68 Walter L. Kennedy 1971-74

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/VT/ofc/spkr.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]