The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Vermont: State Supreme Court

Justices of the Vermont State Supreme Court, 1778-1983 (May be incomplete!)
Thomas Chandler 1778 John Fassett, Jr. 1778-85 Moses Robinson 1778-80 John Shepardson 1778-79 John Throop 1778-80 Paul Spooner 1779-88 Increase Moseley 1780 Jonas Fay 1781-83 Simeon Olcott 1781-82 Elisha Payne 1781-82 Moses Robinson 1782-84 John Throop 1782 Peter Olcott 1782-85 Thomas Porter 1783-85 Nathaniel Niles 1784-87 Moses Robinson 1785-88 Nathaniel Chipman 1786 Luke Knowlton 1786 Stephen R. Bradley 1788 Nathaniel Chipman 1789-90 Samuel Knight 1789-93 Noah Smith 1789-90 Isaac Tichenor 1791-95 Elijah Paine 1791-93 Lot Hall 1794-1800 Enoch Woodbridge 1794-1800 Nathaniel Chipman 1796 Israel Smith 1797 Noah Smith 1798-1800 Stephen Jacob 1801-02 Jonathan Robinson 1801-06 Royall Tyler 1801-12 Theophilus Harrington 1803-12 Jonas Galusha 1807-08 David Fay 1809-12 Nathaniel Chipman 1813-14 Daniel Farrand 1813-14 Jonathan H. Hubbard 1813-14 Asa Aldis 1815 James Fisk 1815-16 Richard Skinner 1815-16 William A. Palmer 1816 William Brayton 1817-21 Dudley Chase 1817-20 Joel Doolittle 1817-22 Samuel S. Phelps as of 1832-38 John Mattocks as of 1833-34 Milo Lyman Bennett as of 1839-59 William Hebard as of 1842-44 Daniel Kellogg 1845-50 Hiland Hall as of 1846-50 Benjamin H. Steele 1865-69 Homer E. Royce as of 1870-82 Hoyt H. Wheeler 1870-77 Russell S. Taft as of 1880-99 H. Henry Powers 1889-90 Jonathan Ross 1889-90 John W. Rowell as of 1889-90 James M. Tyler as of 1889 Wheelock G. Veazey as of 1889 Loveland Munson as of 1890 Henry R. Start 1890 LaForest H. Thompson 1890 John Henry Watson 1899- Seneca Haselton 1902-06 Seneca Haselton 1908-19 Harrie Brigham Chase as of 1927-29 Walter Henry Cleary as of 1948 Samuel H. Blackmer 1949-51 F. Ray Keyser, Sr. as of 1964-75 Franklin S. Billings, Jr. as of 1975-83

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1877 Mar 31: Hoyt H. Wheeler, resigned.
  • 1951 Dec 25: Samuel H. Blackmer, died in office.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/VT/ofc/spju.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]