The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Vermont: Secretaries of Civil and Military Affairs

Vermont Secretaries of Civil and Military Affairs, 1836-1928 (May be incomplete!)
George B. Manser 1836-41 Henry Hale 1841-44 George B. Beaman 1844-46 Frederick H. Billings 1846-48 George F. Houghton 1848-50 Rufus F. Andrews 1850-52 Pliny H. White 1852-53 Leverett B. Englesby 1853-54 Chauncey H. Hayden 1854-56 William G. Shaw 1856-58 Wilbur P. Davis 1858-60 George A. Merrill 1860-61 Samuel Williams 1861-65 Charles M. Gay 1865-67 William P. Dillingham 1867 Samuel E. Burnham 1867-69 John W. Marsh 1869-70 James M. Slade, Jr. 1870-72 Joseph D. Denison 1872-74 William P. Dillingham 1874-76 Andrew E. Rankin 1876-78 Harry P. Stimson 1878-80 Lester F. Thurber 1880-82 George W. Wales 1882-84 Alfred E. Watson 1884-86 Fletcher D. Proctor 1886-88 Fred A. Howland 1888-90 Henry M. McFarland 1890-92 James H. Goulding 1892-94 Max L. Powell 1894-96 Joseph W. Sault 1896-98 George M. Hogan 1898-1900 John G. Sargent 1900-02 Edward C. Bates 1902-04 Charles T. Walter 1904-06 Benjamin Williams, Jr. 1906-08 Aaron H. Grout 1908-10 Harvey R. Kingsley 1910-12 Warner A. Graham 1912-15 Benjamin Gates 1915-17 Harvey E. Goodell 1917-21 Julius A. Willcox 1921 Harry T. Laffin 1921 Henry B. Shaw 1921-22 Ernest W. Gibson 1922-23 John C. Sherburne 1923-25 Webster E. Miller 1926-27 Donald M. Tobin 1927-28

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1867: Charles M. Gay, resigned.
  • 1921: Julius A. Willcox, resigned.
  • 1921 Sep 1: Harry T. Laffin, appointed.
  • 1921 Sep 30: Harry T. Laffin, resigned.
  • 1921 Oct 1: Henry B. Shaw, appointed.
  • 1922 Sep 8: Henry B. Shaw, resigned; Ernest W. Gibson, appointed.
  • 1925: John C. Sherburne, resigned.
  • 1926 Apr 8: Webster E. Miller, appointed.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/VT/ofc/scma.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]