The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Vermont: Lieutenant Governors

Lieutenant Governors of Vermont, 1778-2017 (May be incomplete!)
Joseph Marsh 1778-79 Benjamin Carpenter 1779-81 Elisha Payne 1781-82 Paul Spooner 1782-87 Joseph Marsh 1787-90 Peter Olcott 1790-94 Jonathan Hunt 1794-96 Paul Brigham 1796-1813 William Chamberlain 1813-15 Paul Brigham 1815-20 William Cahoon 1820-22 Aaron Leland 1822-27 Henry Olin 1827-30 Mark Richards 1830-31 Lebbeus Edgerton 1831-35 Silas H. Jenison 1835-36 David M. Camp 1836-41 Waitstill R. Ranney 1841-43 Horace Eaton 1843-46 Leonard Sergeant 1846-48 Robert Pierpoint 1848-50 Julius Converse 1850-52 William C. Kittredge 1852-53 Jefferson P. Kidder 1853-54 Ryland Fletcher 1854-56 James M. Slade 1856-58 Burnam Martin 1858-60 Levi Underwood 1860-62 Paul Dillingham, Jr. 1862-65 Abraham B. Gardner 1865-67 Stephen Thomas 1867-69 George W. Hendee 1869-70 George N. Dale 1870-72 Russell S. Taft 1872-74 Lyman G. Hinckley 1874-76 Redfield Proctor 1876-78 Eben R. Colton 1878-80 John L. Barstow 1880-82 Samuel E. Pingree 1882-84 Ebenezer J. Ormsbee 1884-86 Levi K. Fuller 1886-88 Urban A. Woodbury 1888-90 Henry A. Fletcher 1890-92 F. Stewart Stranahan 1892-94 Zophar M. Mansur 1894-96 Nelson W. Fisk 1896-98 Henry C. Bates 1898-1900 Martin F. Allen 1900-02 Zed S. Stanton 1902-04 Charles H. Stearns 1904-06 George H. Prouty 1906-08 John A. Mead 1908-10 Leighton P. Slack 1910-12 Frank E. Howe 1912-15 Hale K. Darling 1915-17 Roger W. Hulburd 1917-19 Mason S. Stone 1919-21 Abram W. Foote 1921-23 Franklin S. Billings 1923-25 Walter K. Farnsworth 1925-27 Hollister Jackson 1927 Stanley C. Wilson 1929-31 Benjamin Williams 1931-33 Charles M. Smith 1933-35 George D. Aiken 1935-37 William H. Wills 1937-41 Mortimer R. Proctor 1941-45 Lee E. Emerson 1945-49 Harold J. Arthur 1949-50 Joseph B. Johnson 1951-54 Consuelo N. Bailey 1955-57 Robert T. Stafford 1957-59 Robert S. Babcock 1959-61 Ralph A. Foote 1961-64 Madeleine M. Kunin 1979-82 Peter P. Smith 1983-86 Howard Dean 1987-91 Barbara W. Snelling 1993-96 Douglas Racine 1997- Brian Dubie 2007 Phil Scott 2011-17

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1839: Orsamus Cook Merrill, defeated.
  • 1860: Stephen Thomas (Dem), defeated.
  • 1896: Nelson W. Fisk (Rep), elected.
  • 1922 Nov 7: Franklin S. Billings (Rep & Prohibition), elected; Harry C. Shurtleff (Dem), defeated.
  • 1924 Nov 4: Walter K. Farnsworth (Rep), elected; George N. Tilden (Dem), defeated; Fred L. Page (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1926: Hollister Jackson (Rep), elected.
  • 1927 Nov 2: Hollister Jackson, died in office.
  • 1948: Harold J. Arthur (Rep), elected; Allan R. Johnston (Dem), defeated.
  • 1962 Sep 11: Frederic Delany, Jr. (Dem), nominated unopposed.
  • 1962 Sep 11: Ralph A. Foote (Rep), nominated unopposed.
  • 1962 Nov 6: Ralph A. Foote (Rep), elected; Frederic Delany, Jr. (Dem), defeated.
  • 1964: Richard A. Snelling (Rep), defeated.
  • 1974 Nov 5: Brian D. Burns (Dem & Independent Vermonters), elected; T. Garry Buckley (Rep), defeated; Arthur DeLoy (Liberty Union), defeated.
  • 2002 Nov 5: Peter Shumlin (Dem), defeated.
  • 2010 Nov 2: Phil Scott (Rep), elected.
  • 2012 Nov 6: Phil Scott (Rep), elected.
  • 2014 Nov 4: Phil Scott (Rep), elected.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/VT/ofc/ltgov.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]