The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Windham County

Politicians who were born in Windham County

  Athens: Charles P. Stickney, 1840 — Henry L. Bowles, 1866 — Nial Bemis, 1875
  Bellows Falls, Rockingham: James B. Brown, 1885 — Roger Robb, 1907 — Helen Stafford, 1917 — Thomas Salmon, Jr., c.1960
  Brattleboro: Harvey Putnam, 1793 — Ezra Clark, 1813 — Henry B. Crosby, 1815 — Charles F. Leonard, 1842 — Julius J. Estey, 1845 — William S. Leavenworth, 1862 — C. Frederic Childs, 1875 — Ernest William Gibson, 1901 — F. Elliott Barber, 1912 — Peter Shumlin, 1956
  Dover: Kittredge Haskins, 1836 — Walter F. Jones, 1840
  Dummerston: Charles Sweetser, 1808 — Horace Bemis, 1827 — George D. Aiken, 1892
  East Dover, Dover: Sherman Adams, 1899
  Grafton: Charles W. Deane, 1837 — Sidney Holmes, 1839 — Edgar W. Stoddard, 1846 — Frank E. Putnam, c.1857 — John Barrett, 1866
  Guilford: Halbert S. Greenleaf, 1827 — William B. Cutting, 1827 — Charles E. Phelps, 1833 — F. N. Burdick, 1839 — Merton A. Thomas, 1861 — Charles Henry Robb, 1867
  Halifax: Norton P. Otis, 1840 — J. Gilbert Stafford, 1856 — J. Niles Plumb, 1856
  Houghtonville, Grafton: Brigham T. Phelps, 1841
  Jamaica: Washington Irving Howard, 1831 — John Henry Watson, 1851 — Orion M. Barber, 1857 — Harry S. Sherwin, 1867
  Londonderry: Lyman O. Bolster, 1823 — Ernest W. Gibson, 1872 — Emery Arnold Melendy, 1874 — Margaret M. Tucker, 1885
  Marlboro: Edson B. Olds, 1802 — Porter Ingram, 1810 — Edward Chandler Crosby, 1846 — Henry F. Whitney, 1849 — George Henry Hamilton, 1883
  Newfane: Harrison Gray Otis Blake, 1818 — Arthur O. Howe, 1871
  North Londonderry, Londonderry: Harrison H. Atwood, 1863
  Putney: William Haile, 1807 — Prescott Metcalf, 1813
  Rockingham: S. S Davis, 1817 — George B. Kellogg, 1826 — Henry F. Severens, 1835
  Saxtons River, Rockingham: Daniel Kellogg, 1835
  Somerset: Lyman E. Knapp, 1837 — Ozro E. Hill, 1842
  Stratton: Charles H. Grout, 1869 — Ray E. Lyman, 1887
  Townshend: Alphonso Taft, 1810 — Charles L. Upham, 1839 — Adelbert M. Covey, 1864
  Vernon: Jonathan Hunt, 1787
  Wardsboro: Abner Hazeltine, 1793 — Pascal P. Kidder, 1810 — Augustus F. Allen, 1813 — Marshall Otis Howe, 1832 — Clarke C. Fitts, 1870 — Herbert G. Barber, 1870
  West Wardsboro, Wardsboro: Sherman D. Stocker, c.1874
  Westminster: William C. Bradley, 1782 — George Edward Wales, 1792 — Edmund Burke, 1809 — Homer Goodhue, 1811 — Charles O. Wright, 1845 — George C. Wright, c.1870
  Westminster West, Westminster: Alfred S. Hall, 1850
  Whitingham: Brigham Young, 1801 — Horace Boardman Smith, 1826 — Charles S. Chase, 1855 — Farnam M. Sprague, 1858 — Harrie Brigham Chase, 1889
  Wilmington: F. M. Crosby, 1830 — James William Locke, 1837 — A. Augustine Butterfield, 1844 — Charles Edwin Allard, 1855 — William A. Davenport, 1869 — Don O. Butterfield, 1875
   See also Vermont birthplaces not assigned to counties.
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/VT/WN-born.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]