The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Bennington County

Politicians who were born in Bennington County

  Arlington: Gideon Hard, 1797 — Herbert T. Eaton, 1851 — Ella C. Taylor, 1867
  Bennington: Ebenezer W. Walbridge, 1779 — Theron Bly, 1786 — Hiland Hall, 1795 — John J. Walbridge, 1797 — David S. Walbridge, 1802 — John S. Robinson, 1804 — Samuel S. Lacey, 1815 — Alonzo B. Valentine, 1830 — George M. Hawks, 1878 — Samuel H. Blackmer, 1902 — George M. Graves, 1903 — Newton Barber, 1903 — James Stuart Holden, 1914
  Dorset: Leonard Sergeant, 1793 — Henry H. Booth, 1803 — Ben Field, 1816 — Delmer J. Vail, 1845 — George M. Viall, 1849
  East Dorset, Dorset: John L. Cochrane, 1846
  Glastenbury: Norman L. Mattison, 1851
  Landgrove: Warren W. Wiley, 1833 — James L. Martin, 1846 — Joseph G. Martin, 1850 — Henry W. Abbott, 1873
  Manchester: Edmund H. Bennett, 1824 — Thaddeus H. Walker, 1831 — Egbert B. Smith, 1834 — William Hicks, 1837 — Albert C. Orvis, 1863 — Edward H. Holden, 1872 — Walter W. Stokes, 1880 — James M. Clarke, 1917
  North Dorset, Dorset: Ernest L. Whitney, 1874
  Peru: Mark B. Lyon, 1836 — David K. Simonds, 1839 — Benjamin Franklin Williams, 1875
  Pownal: Samuel S. Ellsworth, 1790 — Charles H. Barber, 1839 — Henry W. Myers, 1848 — George N. Myers, 1862 — Michael J. Walsh, 1872
  Readsboro: Lysander D. Blanchard, 1848 — Eugene D. Bishop, 1867
  Rupert: Samuel Barnes Gookins, 1809 — Albert P. Sheldon, 1841 — Merritt Bardwell Roberts, 1858
  Sandgate: Evi L. Hurd, 1841 — Ray Bentley, 1878
  Searsburg: George Farrington, 1843 — George Briggs, 1882
  Shaftsbury: Henry Olin, 1768 — Justin Dwinell, 1785 — Jacob M. Howard, 1805 — William P. Mattison, 1828 — Leander P. Jones, c.1847 — Henry M. Bottum, 1849 — Herbert A. Hulet, 1861 — Edwin N. Hawkins, 1879
  Stamford: Frederick A. Lesure, 1859
  Sunderland: John Pease Sanderson, 1816 — Jefferson R. Judson, 1834 — Frank P. Webb, 1852 — Albert P. Bowen, 1857
  West Rupert, Rupert: Melford D. Bibens, 1898
  Winhall: Francis Kidder, 1803 — Henry A. Bond, 1845 — Leroy C. Williams, 1866
  Woodford: Stephen M. Bowles, 1851
   See also Vermont birthplaces not assigned to counties.

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/VT/BE-born.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]