The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Virginia: State Supreme Court

Justices of the Virginia State Supreme Court, 1777-1972 (May be incomplete!)
Edmund Pendleton 1777 Henry Tazewell 1785 John Blair as of 1789 William Fleming as of 1789-1824 John James Allen 1840 William Daniel 1860 Waller Redd Staples as of 1870-82 Francis Thomas Anderson 1871-82 Lunsford L. Lewis as of 1883-95 John Alexander Buchanan as of 1895-1903 Jesse F. West 1922-29 Preston W. Campbell 1924-31 Martin P. Burks 1927-28 R. H. L. Chichester 1927-30 Henry W. Holt 1928-40 Louis S. Epes 1929-35 Herbert B. Gregory 1930-40 Edward W. Hudgins 1930-40 George L. Browning 1930-40 Joseph W. Chinn 1931-36 John W. Eggleston 1935-40 C. Vernon Spratley 1936-40 Richard Harding Poff 1972

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1928 Apr 30: Martin P. Burks, died in office.
  • 1928 Jun 1: Henry W. Holt, appointed.
  • 1929 Oct 25: Jesse F. West, died in office.
  • 1929 Nov 20: Louis S. Epes, appointed.
  • 1930 Feb 1: Edward W. Hudgins, appointed; Herbert B. Gregory, appointed.
  • 1930 Feb 3: R. H. L. Chichester, died in office.
  • 1930 Feb 19: George L. Browning, appointed.
  • 1931 Dec 3: Joseph W. Chinn, appointed.
  • 1935 Feb 14: Louis S. Epes, died in office.
  • 1935 Feb 26: John W. Eggleston, appointed.
  • 1936 Aug 16: Joseph W. Chinn, died in office.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/VA/ofc/spju.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]