The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Virginia: Continental Congress

Delegates to Continental Congress from Virginia, 1774-88 (May be incomplete!)
Richard Bland 1774 Benjamin Harrison 1774-77 Patrick Henry 1774 Richard Henry Lee 1774-79 Edmund Pendleton 1774 Peyton Randolph 1774-75 George Washington 1774-75 Carter Braxton 1775-76 Thomas Jefferson 1775-76 Francis Lightfoot Lee 1775-78 Thomas Nelson, Jr. 1775-77 George Wythe 1775-77 John Harvie 1777-78 Joseph Jones 1777-78 Mann Page 1777 Thomas Adams 1778-80 John Banister 1778 Cyrus Griffin 1778-81 Meriwether Smith 1778-79 William Fitzhugh 1779 William Fleming 1779 James Mercer 1779 Thomas Nelson, Jr. 1779-80 Edmund Jenings Randolph 1779-82 Theodorick Bland 1780-83 James Henry 1780 Joseph Jones 1780-83 James Madison 1780-83 John Walker 1780 Meriwether Smith 1781 Arthur Lee 1782 Samuel Hardy 1783-85 Thomas Jefferson 1783-84 John Francis Mercer 1783-84 James Monroe 1783-86 Richard Henry Lee 1784-85 William Grayson 1785-87 Edward Carrington 1786-88 Henry Lee 1786-88 John Brown 1787-88 Cyrus Griffin 1787-88 Richard Henry Lee 1787 James Madison 1787-88 John Dawson 1788

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1785 Oct 17: Samuel Hardy, died in office.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/VA/ofc/ccdel.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]