The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Lee County

Cemeteries and Memorial Sites of Politicians in Lee County

Index to Locations

  • Unknown location
  • Private or family graveyards
  • Blackwater Robinette Family Cemetery
  • Ewing Richmond Cemetery
  • Jonesville Hill Cemetery

    Unknown Location
    Lee County, Virginia
    Politicians buried here:
      Moses Cockrell (1767-1800) — of Lee County, Va. Born in Augusta County, Va., 1767. Member of Virginia state house of delegates, 1799-1800. Dreamed one night that there was a white otter down in his salt well; in the morning, he had himself lowered into the well in a basket; the basket broke, and he fell to his death, or perhaps drowned, in Lee County, Va., 1800 (age about 33 years). Interment somewhere.
      Relatives: Son of Simon Cockrell and Mary Magdalene (Vardeman) Cockrell (1752-1819); married to Barthenia Chadwell (1775-1848); uncle by marriage of Jeremiah Weldon South; uncle of Elisha Logan Cockrell, Harrison Cockrill, Jeremiah Vardaman Cockrell and Francis Marion Cockrell; granduncle of John T. Crisp and Ewing Cockrell; great-granduncle of Egbert Railey Cockrell and James Harris Baldwin (1876-1944).
      Political family: Cockrell-South family of Kentucky.
      See also Find-A-Grave memorial

    Private or family graveyard
    Lee County, Virginia
    Politicians buried here:
      Campbell Slemp (1839-1907) — of Big Stone Gap, Wise County, Va. Born in Virginia, 1839. Republican. Member of Virginia state legislature, 1870; U.S. Representative from Virginia 9th District, 1903-07; died in office 1907; delegate to Republican National Convention from Virginia, 1904. Died in 1907 (age about 68 years). Interment in a private or family graveyard.
      Relatives: Father of Campbell Bascom Slemp (1870-1943).
      See also congressional biography — Govtrack.us page

    Robinette Family Cemetery
    Blackwater, Lee County, Virginia
    Politicians buried here:
      Lloyd Mileham Robinette (1881-1951) — also known as Lloyd M. Robinette — of Jonesville, Lee County, Va. Born in Blackwater, Lee County, Va., March 26, 1881. Member of Virginia state senate 16th District, 1932-51. Died November 2, 1951 (age 70 years, 221 days). Interment at Robinette Family Cemetery.
      Relatives: Son of Samuel R. Robinette (1839-1926) and Narcissus (Lindsey) Robinette (1850-1892).
      See also Find-A-Grave memorial

    Richmond Cemetery
    Ewing, Lee County, Virginia
    Politicians buried here:
      Thomas Bacon Fugate (1899-1980) — also known as Thomas B. Fugate — of Lee County, Va. Born near Tazewell, Claiborne County, Tenn., April 10, 1899. Democrat. Member of Virginia state house of delegates, 1928-30; delegate to Democratic National Convention from Virginia, 1944 (member, Committee to Notify Presidential Nominee); delegate to Virginia limited constitutional convention 16th District, 1945; U.S. Representative from Virginia 9th District, 1949-53. Member, Farm Bureau. Died in Ewing, Lee County, Va., September 22, 1980 (age 81 years, 165 days). Interment at Richmond Cemetery.
      See also congressional biography — Govtrack.us page

    Hill Cemetery
    Jonesville, Lee County, Virginia
    Politicians buried here:
      Auburn Lorenzo Pridemore (1837-1900) — of Virginia. Born in Virginia, 1837. Democrat. Member of Virginia state legislature, 1870; U.S. Representative from Virginia 9th District, 1877-79. Died in 1900 (age about 63 years). Interment at Hill Cemetery.
      See also congressional biography — Govtrack.us page

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/VA/LE-buried.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]