The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Utah: U.S. Senators

U.S. Senators from Utah, 1896-2022 (May be incomplete!)
Arthur Brown 1896-97 Frank J. Cannon 1896-99 Joseph L. Rawlins 1897-1903 Thomas Kearns 1901-05 Reed Smoot 1903-33 George Sutherland 1905-17 William H. King 1917-41 Elbert D. Thomas 1933-51 Abe Murdock 1941-47 Arthur V. Watkins 1947-59 Wallace F. Bennett 1951-73 Frank E. Moss 1959-77 Wallace F. Bennett 1974-75 Jake Garn 1975-93 Orrin G. Hatch 1977-2019 Robert F. Bennett 1992- Mike Lee 2011- Mitt Romney 2019-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1914 Nov 3: Reed Smoot (Rep), elected; James H. Moyle (Dem & Progressive), defeated; J. F. Parsons (Socialist), defeated.
  • 1916 Nov 7: William H. King (Dem & Prohibition), elected; George Sutherland (Rep), defeated; Christian Poulson (Socialist), defeated.
  • 1920 Nov 2: Reed Smoot (Rep), elected; Milton H. Welling (Dem), defeated; J. Alex Bevan (Socialist & Farmer-Labor), defeated.
  • 1922 Nov 7: William H. King (Dem), elected; Ernest Bamberger (Rep), defeated; Charles T. Stoney (Socialist & Farmer-Labor), defeated.
  • 1926 Nov 2: Reed Smoot (Rep), elected; Ashby Snow (Dem), defeated; Charles T. Stoney (Socialist), defeated.
  • 1928 Nov 6: William H. King (Dem), elected; Ernest Bamberger (Rep), defeated; Charles T. Stoney (Socialist), defeated.
  • 1932 Nov 8: Elbert D. Thomas (Dem), elected.
  • 1938 Nov 8: Elbert D. Thomas (Dem), elected; Franklin S. Harris (Rep), defeated.
  • 1940: William H. King, defeated for nomination.
  • 1940 Nov 5: Abe Murdock (Dem), elected; Philo T. Farnsworth, Jr. (Rep), defeated.
  • 1944 Nov 7: Elbert D. Thomas (Dem), elected.
  • 1946 Nov 5: Arthur V. Watkins (Rep), elected; Abe Murdock (Dem), defeated.
  • 1950 Nov 7: Wallace F. Bennett (Rep), elected; Elbert D. Thomas (Dem), defeated; Bill Baker (Ind), defeated.
  • 1952: Walter K. Granger, defeated; Arthur V. Watkins (Rep), elected.
  • 1958: Arthur V. Watkins (Rep), defeated.
  • 1962: David S. King, defeated.
  • 1964 Nov 3: Frank E. Moss (Dem), elected; Ernest L. Wilkinson (Rep), defeated.
  • 1968 Nov 5: Wallace F. Bennett (Rep), elected; Milton L. Weilenmann (Dem), defeated; Bruce D. Phillips (Ind), defeated.
  • 1970 Nov 3: Frank E. Moss (Dem), elected; Laurence J. Burton (Rep), defeated; Clyde B. Freeman (American Independent), defeated.
  • 1974 Nov 5: Jake Garn (Rep), elected; Wayne Owens (Dem), defeated; Kenneth Rex Larsen (American), defeated.
  • 1976 Nov 2: Orrin G. Hatch (Rep), elected; Frank E. Moss (Dem), defeated; George M. Batchelor (American), defeated; Steve Trotter (Libertarian), defeated.
  • 1980 Nov 4: Jake Garn (Rep), elected; Dan Berman (Dem), defeated; Bruce Bangerter (Ind), defeated; George M. Batchelor (American), defeated.
  • 1982 Nov 2: Orrin G. Hatch (Rep), elected; Ted L. Wilson (Dem), defeated; George Mercier (Libertarian), defeated; Lawrence R. Kauffman (American), defeated.
  • 1986 Nov 4: Jake Garn (Rep), elected; Craig S. Oliver (Dem), defeated; Hugh A. Butler (Libertarian), defeated; Mary C. Zins (Ind), defeated.
  • 1988 Nov 8: Orrin G. Hatch (Rep), elected; Brian H. Moss (Dem), defeated; Robert J. Smith (American), defeated; William M. Arth (Socialist Workers), defeated.
  • 1992 Nov 3: Robert F. Bennett (Rep), elected; Wayne Owens (Dem), defeated; Anita R. Morrow (Populist), defeated; Maury Modine (Libertarian), defeated; Patricia Grogan (Socialist Workers), defeated.
  • 1994 Nov 8: Orrin G. Hatch (Rep), elected; Patrick A. Shea (Dem), defeated; Craig S. Oliver (Ind), defeated; Gary R. Van Horn (American), defeated; Nelson Gonzalez (Socialist Workers), defeated; Lawrence R. Topham (Independent American), defeated.
  • 1998 Nov 3: Robert F. Bennett (Rep), elected; Scott Leckman (Dem), defeated; Gary R. Van Horn (Independent American), defeated.
  • 2000 Nov 7: Orrin G. Hatch (Rep), elected; Scott N. Howell (Dem), defeated; Carlton Edward Bowen (Independent American), defeated; Jim Dexter (Libertarian), defeated.
  • 2006: Scott Bradley (Constitution), defeated.
  • 2010: Scott Bradley (Constitution), defeated.
  • 2010 Jun 22: Timothy Bridgewater (Rep), defeated in primary; Mike Lee (Rep), nominated.
  • 2010 Nov 2: Mike Lee (Rep), elected.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/UT/ofc/ussen.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]