The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Logan, Utah

Mayors of Logan, 1866-2002 (may be incomplete!)
Alvin Crockett 1866-70 William B. Preston 1870-82 Robert S. Campbell 1882-85 James T. Hammond 1885-86 Aaron F. Farr, Jr. 1886-89 James Quayle 1889-90 Isaac Davis Haines 1890-92 James Quayle 1892-93 George W. Thatcher 1894-95 Newel W. Kimball 1896-97 Anthon Anderson 1898-1901 Lorenzo Hansen 1902-03 Edward William Robinson 1904-07 William Edwards 1908-09 John H. Anderson 1910-11 Henry G. Hayball 1912-14 Preston A. Thatcher 1914-17 Roy Bullen 1917-20 William Howell 1920-22 John A. Crockett 1922-26 Andrew G. Lundstrom 1926-40 William Evans, Jr. 1940-46 Curtis L. Miner 1946-50 William W. Owens 1950-58 T. Earl Hunsaker 1958-62 Theral V. Bishop 1962-66 Richard A. Chambers 1966-72 Ted S. Perry 1972-73 Ernest G. Earl 1973-74 Desmond L. Anderson 1974-78 Walter N. Nickel 1978-82 Newel G. Daines 1982-90 Russell F. Fjeldsted 1990-94 Darla D. Clark 1994-98 Douglas E. Thompson 1998-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1885 Sep 2: Robert S. Campbell, resigned; James T. Hammond, appointed.
  • 1889 Feb 28: Aaron F. Farr, Jr., resigned.
  • 1889 Mar 1: James Quayle, appointed.
  • 1917 Mar 27: Preston A. Thatcher, resigned.
  • 1917 Apr 5: Roy Bullen, appointed.
  • 1972: Richard A. Chambers, resigned; Ted S. Perry, appointed.
  • 1973: Ted S. Perry, resigned.
  • 1981: Newel G. Daines, elected.
  • 1985 Oct 8: Newel G. Daines, nominated; Max Jones, nominated; Norman O. Walhstrom, defeated in primary; Loye E. Martindale, defeated in primary; Dorothy L. Moran, defeated in primary.
  • 1985 Nov 5: Newel G. Daines, elected; Max Jones, defeated.
  • 1989 Oct 3: Russell F. Fjeldsted, nominated; Claude J. Burtenshaw, nominated; O. Cordell Yeates, defeated in primary; Jim Mortensen, defeated in primary.
  • 1989 Nov 7: Russell F. Fjeldsted, elected; Claude J. Burtenshaw, defeated.

    Postmasters at Logan, 1901 (may be incomplete!)
    Robert Murdock as of 1901

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/UT/ofc/logan.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]