The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Davis County

Davis County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Davis County: [none currently in database]

Republican Party chairs in Davis County: [none currently in database]

Davis County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1912, Baltimore: John R. Barnes
   1916, St. Louis: John R. Barnes
   1924, New York: John G. M. Barnes
   1936, Philadelphia: Miriam M. Barnes — Mrs. D. L. Rice
   1940, Chicago: Mrs. D. L. Rice
   1948, Philadelphia: Charles C. Gardner
   1972, Miami Beach: Bea Carroll — Leonard McGee
   1996, Chicago: Louise Henson — Phill Henson
   2004, Boston: Todd Taylor — Carlos Vasquez — Lucy Vasquez
   2008, Denver: Helen Langan — Connie Nielsen — Carlos Vasquez, Jr.
Republican National Conventions:
   1912, Chicago: John Walsh
   1916, Chicago: Peter M. Clegg
   1924, Cleveland: Charles R. Mabey
   1928, Kansas City: James E. Ellison — Mrs. John W. Thornley
   1932, Chicago: E. L. Kesler — Mrs. G. D. Rutledge
   1936, Cleveland: George Holt
   1948, Philadelphia: Lucy A. Rigby — Mrs. J. E. Trowbridge
   1952, Chicago: Harold Ellison
   1956, San Francisco: E. Dale Peak — Ronald Wiscombe
   1960, Chicago: Helen H. Brown — Oma Wilcox
   1972, Miami Beach: Sheryl Allen — Richard Baker — Lillian Garrett
   2004, New York: Candace Daly — Dan McConkie — Don Peay
   2008, St. Paul: Justin Allen — Bob Bennett — Don Guymon — Ben Horsley — Eric Isom — Sheldon Killpack — Tim Sheehan — Scott Simpson — Todd Weiler
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/UT/DA-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]