The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Smith County

Smith County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Smith County: [none currently in database]

Republican Party chairs in Smith County: [none currently in database]

Smith County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1856, Cincinnati: Richard B. Hubbard, Jr.
   1876, St. Louis: William S. Herndon
   1880, Cincinnati: Richard B. Hubbard, Jr.
   1908, Denver: Hampson Gary
   1912, Baltimore: J. M. Edwards — Cone Johnson — J. S. McIlwaine
   1916, St. Louis: P. K. Birdwell — Dabney White
   1920, San Francisco: Cone Johnson
   1924, New York: C. L. Calhoun
   1928, Houston: Cone Johnson
   1940, Chicago: J. J. Jenkins — Earle B. Mayfield, Jr. — Tom Pollard
   1944, Chicago: L. L. James
   1948, Philadelphia: Bascom B. Gist
   1956, Chicago: Howard W. Bryant
   1964, Atlantic City: Glenn H. Flinn — Ben Johnson
   1972, Miami Beach: Charles Jordan — Jo Jordan
   1980, New York: Sue Hudson — Peyton McKnight — Lowell Starling
   1996, Chicago: David Hudson — Cristy Keul — Charles Rocha
   2004, Boston: Bill Bowen — Budd Smith
Republican National Conventions:
   1904, Chicago: R. H. Mitchell
   1912, Chicago: J. L. Jackson
   1916, Chicago: J. W. Butler
   1920, Chicago: D. W. Gullick
   1928, Kansas City: Fred J. Sackett
   1932, Chicago: B. J. Peasley
   1936, Cleveland: B. J. Peasley
   1940, Philadelphia: Roy D. Golston — B. J. Peasley
   1944, Chicago: B. J. Peasley
   1956, San Francisco: Mrs. James W. Fair — Kelley Smith
   1960, Chicago: Mrs. James W. Fair — Kelley Smith — Trent H. Zeppa
   1972, Miami Beach: Gene Diedrick — Jack Warren
   1988, New Orleans: Michael E. Jones
   2004, New York: Becky Dempsey
   2008, St. Paul: Leo Berman — Dianne Caron — Sharon Guthrie — Mollie Herrington — Mary Schneider
   2012, Tampa: Philip Hayes — Stephen Lee — Jenny Moorhead

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/TX/SM-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]