The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Lubbock County

Lubbock County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Lubbock County: [none currently in database]

Republican Party chairs in Lubbock County: [none currently in database]

Lubbock County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1928, Houston: J. H. Goodman
   1940, Chicago: George Dupree — J. W. Jackson — T. K. Martin — J. Doyle Settle
   1944, Chicago: T. K. Martin
   1948, Philadelphia: C. L. Harris
   1952, Chicago: O. B. Ratliff
   1956, Chicago: Byron Abernethy — Lloyd Croslin — Robert E. Dennis — George H. Mahon
   1964, Atlantic City: H. J. Blanchard — George H. Mahon — Arch S. Underwood
   1972, Miami Beach: Criselda Ortez Lightfoot — Dorothy McLarty — Kent Wagonseller
   1980, New York: James F. Davis, Jr. — Sue Duncan — Paul C. Looney
   1996, Chicago: Dolores Trevino Brown — Linda DeLeon
   2004, Boston: Jeff Benson — Mary Hatfield — Sue Weninger
   2008, Denver: Marjorie Reynolds — Ruby Tanner — Rico Vega
Republican National Conventions:
   1928, Kansas City: C. E. Maedgen
   1948, Philadelphia: Mohler D. Temple
   1952, Chicago: A. E. Quest
   1956, San Francisco: Claude S. Cravens
   1960, Chicago: W. J. Klattenhoff — Mrs. Gordon Treadaway — Gordon Treadaway
   1972, Miami Beach: James H. Granberry
   1988, New Orleans: Bob Blake — Larry Combest — Ruth Schiermeyer — Jane Anne Stinnett
   2004, New York: Joe Grimes — Tim Lambert — Tony Renteria
   2008, St. Paul: Dustin Burrows — Donald May — Chris Winn
   2012, Tampa: Jon David Bruegel — Jane Cansino — Dustin Koenning — Kristen VanderPlas
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/TX/LU-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]