The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Hays County

Cemeteries and Memorial Sites of Politicians in Hays County

Index to Locations

  • Private or family graveyards
  • Near Buda Cocke Family Cemetery
  • Kyle Kyle Cemetery
  • Wimberley St. Stephens Churchyard

    Private or family graveyard
    Hays County, Texas

    Cocke Family Cemetery
    Near Buda, Hays County, Texas
    Politicians buried here:
      Frederick Bird Smith Cocke (1813-1903) — of Texas. Born in Rutledge, Grainger County, Tenn., February 13, 1813. Member of Texas state house of representatives, 1861-63, 1879; delegate to Texas state constitutional convention, 1875. Died in Center Point, Kerr County, Tex., April 28, 1903 (age 90 years, 74 days). Interment at Cocke Family Cemetery.
      Relatives: Son of John Alexander Cocke; grandson of William Cocke; grandfather of William Alexander Cocke (1874-1954?).
      Political family: Cocke family of Rutledge, Tennessee.

    Kyle Cemetery
    Kyle, Hays County, Texas
    See also Findagrave page for this location.
    Politicians buried here:
      Edward Burleson, Jr. (1826-1877) — of Texas. Born in Tipton County, Tenn., November 26, 1826. Served in the U.S. Army during the Mexican War; served in the Confederate Army during the Civil War; delegate to Texas state constitutional convention, 1875. Died in Austin, Travis County, Tex., May 12, 1877 (age 50 years, 167 days). Interment at Kyle Cemetery.
      Relatives: Son of Sarah Griffin (Owen) Burleson (1796-1875) and Edward Burleson (1798-1851); married to Emma Lucy Kyle (1832-1877); father of Albert Sidney Burleson.
      Political family: Burleson family of Austin, Texas.
      See also Find-A-Grave memorial

    St. Stephens Churchyard
    Wimberley, Hays County, Texas
    Politicians buried here:
      William Herbert Crook (1925-1997) — also known as William H. Crook — of San Marcos, Hays County, Tex. Born in Momence, Kankakee County, Ill., 1925. Democrat. Served in the U.S. Army Air Force in World War II; candidate for U.S. Representative from Texas, 1960; delegate to Democratic National Convention from Texas, 1964; U.S. Ambassador to Australia, 1968-69. Baptist. Died in Corpus Christi, Nueces County, Tex., October 29, 1997 (age about 72 years). Interment at St. Stephens Churchyard.
      See also U.S. State Dept career summary

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/TX/HY-buried.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]