The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Houston County

Cemeteries and Memorial Sites of Politicians in Houston County

Index to Locations

  • Crockett Evergreen Memorial Park
  • Crockett Glenwood Cemetery

    Evergreen Memorial Park
    Crockett, Houston County, Texas
    Politicians buried here:
      Nat Patton (1884-1957) — of Crockett, Houston County, Tex. Born near Tadmor, Houston County, Tex., February 26, 1884. Democrat. Member of Texas state house of representatives, 1912-13; state court judge in Texas, 1918-22; member of Texas state senate, 1929-34; U.S. Representative from Texas 7th District, 1935-45; defeated, 1933. Died in Crockett, Houston County, Tex., July 27, 1957 (age 73 years, 151 days). Interment at Evergreen Memorial Park.
      See also congressional biography — Govtrack.us page

    Glenwood Cemetery
    Crockett, Houston County, Texas
    Politicians buried here:
      John Titus Smith (1815-1874) — of Houston County, Tex. Born in Albany, Albany County, N.Y., March 5, 1815. County judge in Texas, 1854-60; served in the Confederate Army during the Civil War; member of Texas state house of representatives, 1861-62, 1866, 1873-74 (9th District 1861-62, 1866, 3rd District 1873-74); died in office 1874. Died in Austin, Travis County, Tex., February 16, 1874 (age 58 years, 348 days). Interment at Glenwood Cemetery.
      Relatives: Father of John Beal Smith (1846-1930).
      John Beal Smith (1846-1930) — of Texas. Born in Bainbridge, Decatur County, Ga., March 28, 1846. Served in the Confederate Army during the Civil War; member of Texas state legislature, 1911. Presbyterian. Died, of valvular heart disease, February 8, 1930 (age 83 years, 317 days). Interment at Glenwood Cemetery.
      Relatives: Son of John Titus Smith (1815-1874).
      Thomas George Washington Tarver (1865-1930) — also known as T. G. W. Tarver — of Crockett, Houston County, Tex. Born in Porter Springs, Houston County, Tex., May 22, 1865. Republican. School teacher; mail carrier; alternate delegate to Republican National Convention from Texas, 1912, 1920. African ancestry. Died May 18, 1930 (age 64 years, 361 days). Interment at Glenwood Cemetery.
      Presumably named for: George Washington
      See also Find-A-Grave memorial

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/TX/HS-buried.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]