The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Cherokee County

Cemeteries and Memorial Sites of Politicians in Cherokee County

Index to Locations

  • Alto Old Palestine Cemetery
  • Jacksonville City Cemetery
  • Rusk Cedar Hill Cemetery

    Old Palestine Cemetery
    Alto, Cherokee County, Texas
    Politicians buried here:
      George Butler Terrell (1862-1947) — also known as George B. Terrell — of Alto, Cherokee County, Tex. Born in Texas, 1862. Democrat. Member of Texas state legislature, 1898; U.S. Representative from Texas at-large, 1933-35. Died in 1947 (age about 85 years). Interment at Old Palestine Cemetery.
      See also congressional biography — Govtrack.us page

    City Cemetery
    Jacksonville, Cherokee County, Texas
    Politicians buried here:
      John Calvin Box (1871-1941) — also known as John C. Box — of Jacksonville, Cherokee County, Tex. Born near Crockett, Houston County, Tex., March 28, 1871. Democrat. Lawyer; county judge in Texas, 1898-1901; U.S. Representative from Texas 2nd District, 1919-31. Methodist. Member, Freemasons. Died in Jacksonville, Cherokee County, Tex., May 17, 1941 (age 70 years, 50 days). Interment at City Cemetery.
      Presumably named for: John Calvin
      Relatives: Son of John J. W. Box and Susan A. (Morris) Box; married, June 1, 1893, to Mina Hill.
      See also congressional biography — Govtrack.us page

    Cedar Hill Cemetery
    Rusk, Cherokee County, Texas
    Politicians buried here:
      John Benjamin Long (1843-1924) — of Texas. Born in Douglass, Nacogdoches County, Tex., September 8, 1843. Democrat. Served in the Confederate Army during the Civil War; U.S. Representative from Texas 2nd District, 1891-93; member of Texas state house of representatives, 1913. Died in Rusk, Cherokee County, Tex., April 27, 1924 (age 80 years, 232 days). Interment at Cedar Hill Cemetery.
      See also congressional biography — Govtrack.us page
      John Marshall Claiborne (1839-1909) — also known as John M. Claiborne — of Galveston, Galveston County, Tex. Born in Gibson County, Tenn., February 27, 1839. Member of Texas state senate 10th District, 1887-90. Died April 28, 1909 (age 70 years, 60 days). Interment at Cedar Hill Cemetery.
      Presumably named for: John Marshall
      Robert Andrew Willson Barrett (1892-1945) — also known as R. A. W. Barrett — of Atlanta, Fulton County, Ga. Born in Rusk, Cherokee County, Tex., November 21, 1892. Real estate business; Honorary Consul for Venezuela in Atlanta, Ga., 1923-29. Member, Kappa Alpha Order; Freemasons; American Legion. Died, from pancreatic cancer, in the station hospital, Ellington Field, Houston, Harris County, Tex., February 27, 1945 (age 52 years, 98 days). Cremated; ashes interred at Cedar Hill Cemetery.
      Relatives: Son of Robert Arthur Barrett (1853-1924) and Lela May (Willson) Barrett (1869-1954); married to Grace NcNaught Bloodworth.
      See also Find-A-Grave memorial

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/TX/CH-buried.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]