The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Washington County

Washington County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Washington County: [none currently in database]

Republican Party chairs in Washington County: [none currently in database]

Washington County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1860, Charleston and Baltimore: William Henry Maxwell
   1876, St. Louis: S. Kirkpatrick
   1912, Baltimore: Thad A. Cox — C. H. Lyle
   1916, St. Louis: Lee Harr
   1936, Philadelphia: Thad A. Cox
   1940, Chicago: Thad A. Cox — Dixie Piet
   1944, Chicago: Carrie E. Pace
   1948, Philadelphia: Carrie E. Pace
   1952, Chicago: Sam Taylor III
   1980, New York: Mary Lee Gregory — G. Richard Johnson — Mitchell Thorp
   1996, Chicago: Fred Phillips
   2004, Boston: Heather O'Toole — Lee Porterfield
   2008, Denver: Sonja Fox
Republican National Conventions:
   1896, St. Louis: Walter P. Brownlow
   1900, Philadelphia: Walter P. Brownlow
   1916, Chicago: Sam R. Sells
   1920, Chicago: Walter P. Shipley
   1924, Cleveland: D. A. Vines
   1932, Chicago: B. Carroll Reece — Sam R. Sells
   1936, Cleveland: May A. Rass — B. Carroll Reece
   1944, Chicago: B. Carroll Reece — D. A. Vines
   1948, Philadelphia: B. Carroll Reece — Jesse G. Smith
   1956, San Francisco: B. Carroll Reece — Louise G. Reece
   1960, Chicago: B. Carroll Reece
   1964, San Francisco: Louise G. Reece
   2008, St. Paul: Kevin Flanary — Sara Sellers — Kelly Wolfe

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/TN/WA-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]