The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
South Dakota: Lieutenant Governors

Lieutenant Governors of South Dakota, 1889-2011 (May be incomplete!)
James H. Fletcher 1889-91 George H. Hoffman 1891-93 Charles N. Herreid 1893-97 D. T. Hindman 1897-99 John T. Kean 1899-1901 George W. Snow 1901-05 John E. McDougall 1905-07 Howard C. Shober 1907-11 Frank M. Byrne 1911-13 E. L. Abel 1913-15 Peter Norbeck 1915-17 William H. McMaster 1917-21 Carl Gunderson 1921-25 A. Clark Forney 1925-27 H. E. Covey 1927-29 Clarence E. Coyne 1929 John T. Grigsby 1929-31 O. K. Whitney 1931-33 Hans Ustrud 1933-35 Robert Peterson 1935-37 Donald McMurchie 1937-41 A. C. Miller 1941-45 Sioux K. Grigsby 1945-49 Rex A. Terry 1949-55 L. Roy Houck 1955-59 John F. Lindley 1959-61 Joe H. Bottum 1961-63 Nils A. Boe 1963-65 Lem Overpeck 1965-69 James Abdnor 1969-71 William Dougherty 1971-75 Harvey L. Wollman 1975-78 Lowell C. Hansen II 1979-87 Ruth Meiers 1985-87 Walter D. Miller 1987-93 Steve T. Kirby 1993- Dennis Daugaard 2003-11

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1889 Oct 1: James H. Fletcher (Rep), elected; Anson W. Pratt (Dem), defeated.
  • 1892 Nov 8: Charles N. Herreid (Rep), elected; M. M. Price (Ind), defeated; Sam A. Ramsey (Dem), defeated.
  • 1894 Nov 6: Charles N. Herreid (Rep), elected; S. H. Bronson (Ind), defeated; B. M. Tunley (Dem), defeated; Knute Lewis (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1910: Frank M. Byrne, elected.
  • 1920 Nov 2: Carl Gunderson (Rep), elected; C. W. Best (Nonpartisan), defeated; Eric J. Ellefson (Dem), defeated.
  • 1922 Nov 7: Carl Gunderson (Rep), elected; F. W. Bilger (Dem), defeated; R. T. Eastman (Nonpartisan), defeated.
  • 1924: A. Clark Forney (Rep), elected.
  • 1928 Nov 6: Clarence E. Coyne (Rep), elected; John T. Grigsby (Dem), defeated; Elsa G. Anderson (Farmer-Labor), defeated.
  • 1929 May 27: Clarence E. Coyne, died in office.
  • 1930 Nov 4: O. K. Whitney (Rep), elected; Jorgen J. Boe (Dem), defeated; Mrs. O. H. Olson (Ind), defeated; Oscar Luttio (Ind), defeated.
  • 1948: Rexford M. Sheild (Rep), defeated.
  • 1952 Nov 4: Rex A. Terry (Rep), elected; Chester Gullickson (Dem), defeated.
  • 1954 Nov 2: L. Roy Houck (Rep), elected; James M. Magness (Dem), defeated.
  • 1987: Ruth Meiers, died in office.
  • 1994 Nov 8: Carole Hillard (Rep), elected; Jim Abbott (Dem), defeated; Brian C. Liss (Libertarian), defeated.
  • 2010 Nov 2: Matt Michels (Rep), elected; Ben Arndt (Dem), defeated.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/SD/ofc/ltgov.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]