The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
South Dakota: State Attorneys General

South Dakota State Attorneys General, 1889-2010 (May be incomplete!)
Robert Dollard 1889-93 Coe I. Crawford 1893-97 Melvin Grigsby 1897-99 John L. Pyle 1899-1902 A. W. Burtt 1902-03 Philo Hall 1903-07 S. Wesley Clark 1907-11 Royal C. Johnson 1911-15 Clarence C. Caldwell 1915-19 Byron S. Payne 1919-23 Buell F. Jones 1923-29 M. Q. Sharpe 1929-33 Walter Conway 1933-37 Clair Roddewig 1937-39 Leo A. Temmey 1939-43 George T. Mickelson 1943-47 Sigurd Anderson 1947-51 Ralph A. Dunham 1951-55 Phil Saunders 1955-59 J. Donahue Parnell 1959-61 A. C. Miller 1961-63 Frank L. Farrar 1963-69 Gordon J. Mydland 1969-73 Kermit A. Sande 1973-75 William J. Janklow 1975-79 Mark V. Meierhenry 1979-87 Roger Tellinghuisen 1987-90 Mark Barnett 1990-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1889 Oct 1: Robert Dollard (Rep), elected; H. F. Fellows (Dem), defeated.
  • 1892 Nov 8: Coe I. Crawford (Rep), elected; W. H. Curtis (Ind), defeated; Henry C. Walsh (Dem), defeated.
  • 1902 Feb 21: John L. Pyle, died in office.
  • 1914: Clarence C. Caldwell (Rep), elected.
  • 1920 Nov 2: Byron S. Payne (Rep), elected; O. M. Burch (Nonpartisan), defeated; Peter Ward (Dem), defeated.
  • 1928 Nov 6: M. Q. Sharpe (Rep), elected; Ray E. Dougherty (Dem), defeated; Lars J. Grinager (Farmer-Labor), defeated.
  • 1950: Rexford M. Sheild (Rep), defeated.
  • 1952 Nov 4: Ralph A. Dunham (Rep), elected; C. W. 'Bill' Hyde (Dem), defeated.
  • 1954 Nov 2: Phil Saunders (Rep), elected; Fred J. Nichol (Dem), defeated.
  • 1994 Nov 8: Mark Barnett (Rep), elected; Randy Turner (Dem), defeated; Bert Olson (Libertarian), defeated.
  • 2010 Nov 2: Marty Jackley (Rep), elected; Ron Volesky (Dem), defeated.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/SD/ofc/attygn.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]