The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Brown County
South Dakota

Politicians who lived in Brown County

  Brown County (no city given): A. M. Gearey — John G. Sumption
  Aberdeen, 1880-1889: John L. Browne — L. C. Dennis — M. J. Gordon — James M. Lawson
  Aberdeen, 1890-1899: I. L. Bates — Nathaniel Brown — John L. Browne — Charles A. Howard — Samuel H. Jumper — William E. Kidd — James H. Kyle — James M. Lawson — William Edwin Milligan — James R. Neer — Anson W. Pratt — J. W. Scattergood — Frank W. Webb
  Aberdeen, 1900-1909: John L. Browne — Ira O. Curtiss — Herman Ellerman — Charles N. Herreid — D. T. Hindman — Charles A. Howard — Samuel H. Jumper — James M. Lawson — Isaac Lincoln — James H. McCoy — William Edwin Milligan — Emmett C. Ryan — O. A. Swanson — E. W. Taylor — L. C. Turner — N. Howard Wendell — Henry S. Williams
  Aberdeen, 1910-1919: John L. Browne — Dwight Campbell — James Coffey — Ira O. Curtiss — James W. Daulton — H. R. Hasvold — Charles N. Herreid — W. W. Holmes — Charles A. Howard — Walter G. Jacobs — Royal C. Johnson — J. E. Kelley — Isaac Lincoln — James H. McCoy — William Edwin Milligan — George W. Nash — John L. Ruckman — C. A. Russell — Emmett C. Ryan — O. A. Swanson — W. J. Tiffany — L. T. Van Slyke — F. W. Will
  Aberdeen, 1920-1929: Hugh Agor — W. L. Buttz — Dwight Campbell — Roger A. Campbell — George T. Conner — W. I. Erwin — John Firey — Frank E. Flynn — L. B. Geisler — F. E. Guhin — Charles N. Herreid — W. W. Holmes — Charles A. Howard — Royal C. Johnson — Isaac Lincoln — William Edwin Milligan — Van Buren Perry — C. A. Russell — Emmett C. Ryan — O. A. Swanson — S. R. Thompson — R. F. Williamson — Theodore Wosnuk
  Aberdeen, 1930-1939: Hugh Agor — Joe Brennan — John N. Brundage — Maurice M. Carpenter — George C. Ernst — Royal C. Johnson — Ira Kruger — Grover Lothrop — Frank J. McHugh — Emmett C. Ryan — Bruce Swain — O. M. Tiffany — R. F. Williamson
  Aberdeen, 1940-1949: Hugh Agor — J. B. Barger — John Boston — Joe Brennan — Joe E. Demmers — George C. Ernst — Ray Ernst — Martha W. Garwood — Seth S. Gilborne — Harvey C. Jewett, Jr. — Elmer R. Judy — Thomas C. Kasper — Grover Lothrop — Melvin A. Nelson — George K. Olson — Abraham Pred — William Ribnick — R. F. Williamson
  Aberdeen, 1950-1959: Hugh Agor — Archie A. Bolduan — Roger Campbell — Joe E. Demmers — Edward H. Downs — Francis J. Evelo — Ellis D. Gates — Charles Howard — Thomas C. Kasper — George E. May — George K. Olson — Abraham Pred — Evelyn Van Wagner — Russell S. Wallace — Carl Wolter
  Aberdeen, 1960-1969: Hugh Agor — Edward H. Downs — Ellis D. Gates — George E. May
  Aberdeen, 1970-1979: Hugh Agor — George E. May — Donna M. Stoia
  Aberdeen, 1980-1989: Thomas A. Daschle — George E. May
  Aberdeen, 1990-1999: Chester A. Groseclose, Jr. — Craig Schaunaman — V. G. Stoia
  Aberdeen, 2000-2009: James Kraft — Al Novstrup — Dana Randall — Jennifer Slaight-Hansen — Duane Sutton — Kristi Wagner — Ann Wullweber
  Aberdeen, 2010-2023: Steve Barnett — Elaine Elliott — Tim Even — Dennis Feickert — Alan C. Hoerth — Isaac Latterell — Al Novstrup — David Novstrup
  Aberdeen, Dakota Territory (now S.Dak.): A. W. Campbell — Patrick Daley — V. P. Kennedy — James M. Lawson
  Bath: Arthur B. Bean — Jim Hundstad — Charles D. Jones
  Claremont: Frank E. Bowles — Elmer L. Cole — George W. Miller — John R. Weaver
  Columbia: Burroughs Abbott — George B. Daley — H. Paul Dennert — Samuel Johnston — P. D. Kribs — Isaac B. Matthews — Walter S. Riblet
  Ferney: S. A. Kennedy — I. D. Tower
  Frederick: L. M. Anderson — Olaf Anderson — B. C. Gelling — G. Brooke Howell — A. J. Johnson — Martin V. Redding — August Senn — J. C. Simmons — W. I. Storm — Helge N. Tangen
  Gem: E. S. Nelson
  Groton: Francis D. Adams — Frank G. Broonberg — W. A. Burnham — Frank E. Campbell — C. B. Collins — J. W. Eppard — John T. Hatton — Kenneth Holum — R. R. Hurlbut — Robert A. Johnson — John C. Kindschy — William Koepsel — A. W. Krueger — Charles J. Lundberg — E. J. Mather — Earl A. Mueller — C. B. Quam — Jay E. Reeves — Franklin C. Robinson — F. H. Smith
  Groton, Dakota Territory (now S.Dak.): C. B. Collins — Franklin C. Robinson
  Hecla: Robert Chamberlain — Charles H. Eygabroad — Roy S. Glover — W. O. Lester — J. A. North — William M. Scott — Harvey L. Sheldon — Henry F. Stabnaw
  Houghton: B. R. Danielson — Lorna B. Herseth — Ralph E. Herseth — Lars Herseth — Deb Knecht
  Near Mina: August Dahme
  Plana: John C. Hall — Daniel D. Jones
  Putney: C. Jensen
  Rondell: E. P. Eshford — E. C. Moulton — I. D. Tower
  Verdon: Lars M. Benson
  Warner: Anson Green — E. C. Moulton — Don Young
  Westport: J. I. Barnes
   See also South Dakota areas not assigned to counties.
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/SD/BR-lived.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]