The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
U.S. District Attorneys in South Carolina

U.S. District Attorneys for South Carolina, 1789-1998 (may be incomplete!)
John J. Pringle 1789-92 Thomas Parker 1792-1820 Robert Y. Hayne 1820 John Gadsden 1820-31 Edward Frost 1831 Robert B. Gilchrist 1831-40 Edward McCrady 1840-50 William Whaley 1850 James L. Petigru 1850-53 Thomas Evans 1853-56 James Conner 1856-60 John Phillips 1866-67 David T. Corbin 1867-77 L. C. Northrup 1878-81 Samuel W. Melton 1881-85 Leroy F. Youmans 1885-89 Abial Lathrop 1889-93 William P. Murphy 1893-96 Abial Lathrop 1896-1901 John G. Capers 1901-06 Ernest F. Cochran 1906-14 Francis H. Weston 1914-18 Klyde Robinson 1968-69 Joseph O. Rogers, Jr. 1969-71 John K. Grisso 1971-75 Thomas P. Simpson 1975 Mark W. Buyck, Jr. 1975-77 Thomas P. Simpson 1977 Thomas E. Lydon, Jr. 1977-81 Henry D. McMaster 1981-85 Vinton D. Lide 1985-89 E. Bart Daniel 1989-92 John S. Simmons 1992-93 Margaret B. Seymour 1993 J. Preston Strom, Jr. 1993-96 Margaret B. Seymour 1996 J. René Josey 1996-98

U.S. District Attorneys for South Carolina, 1918-68 (may be incomplete!)
Francis H. Weston 1918-22 D. Ernest Meyer 1922-30 Henry E. Davis 1930-34 Claud N. Sapp 1934-47 Benjamin S. Whaley 1947-53 N. Welsh Morrisette, Jr. 1953-61 Terrell L. Glenn 1961-68

Officeholding Events (may be incomplete!)

  • 1947 Feb 3: Claud N. Sapp, died in office.

    U.S. District Attorneys for South Carolina, 1915-68 (may be incomplete!)
    Francis H. Weston 1915 J. William Thurmond 1915-21 Ernest F. Cochran 1921-23 Joseph A. Tolbert 1923-33 Charles C. Wyche 1933-37 Oscar H. Doyle 1937-50 Edward P. Riley 1951 John C. Williams 1951-54 Joseph E. Hines 1954-61 John C. Williams 1961-68
    "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/SC/ofc/usatty.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]