The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
South Carolina: Lieutenant Governors

Lieutenant Governors of South Carolina, 1778-2017 (May be incomplete!)
Christopher Gadsden 1778-80 Thomas Bee 1779-80 Richard Hutson 1782-83 Richard Beresford 1783 William Moultrie 1784 Thomas Gadsden 1787 John Drayton 1798-1800 Samuel Farrow 1810-12 Eldred Simkins 1812-14 Whitemarsh Benjamin Seabrook 1834-36 William Kennedy Clowney 1840 Joshua John Ward 1850-52 A. J. Ransier 1871-72 William Dunlap Simpson 1876-79 W. L. Mauldin 1886-90 Eugene Blackburn Gary 1891-93 W. H. Timmerman 1893-96 Miles B. McSweeney 1897-99 Robert B. Scarborough 1899-1900 Charles Aurelius Smith 1911-15 J. E. Harley 1931-41 Ransome Judson Williams 1943-45 George Bell Timmerman, Jr. 1947-55 Ernest F. Hollings 1955-59 Burnet R. Maybank 1959-61 Robert E. McNair 1963-65 Earle E. Morris, Jr. 1971-74 Henry D. McMaster 2015-17

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1870: Matthew C. Butler, defeated.
  • 1896: Miles B. McSweeney (Dem), elected.
  • 1916: Edward Clarkson Leverette Adams, defeated.
  • 1922: Edward Clarkson Leverette Adams, defeated.
  • 1934: J. E. Harley (Dem), elected.
  • 1938: J. E. Harley (Dem), elected.
  • 1946: E. Coke Bridges, defeated.
  • 1958 Nov 4: Burnet R. Maybank, elected.
  • 1970 Nov 3: Earle E. Morris, Jr., elected.
  • 1974: Carroll A. Campbell, Jr., defeated.
  • 1986: Tommy Hartnett, defeated.
  • 1994: Joseph P. Riley, Jr. (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1994 Aug 9: Henry S. Jordan (Rep), advanced to runoff.
  • 1994 Aug 23: Henry S. Jordan (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 2006 Jun 13: Henry S. Jordan (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 2010 Jun 8: Bill Connor (Rep), advanced to runoff.
  • 2010 Jun 22: Bill Connor (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/SC/ofc/ltgov.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]