The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
South Carolina: Governors

Governors of South Carolina, 1779-2020 (May be incomplete!)
John Rutledge 1779-82 John Mathews 1782-83 Benjamin Guerard 1783-85 William Moultrie 1785-87 Thomas Pinckney 1787-89 Charles Pinckney 1789-92 William Moultrie 1792-94 Arnoldus Van der Horst 1794-96 Charles Pinckney 1796-98 Edward Rutledge 1798-1800 John Drayton 1800-02 James Burchill Richardson 1802-04 Paul Hamilton 1804-06 Charles Pinckney 1806-08 John Drayton 1808-10 Henry Middleton 1810-12 Joseph Alston 1812-14 David R. Williams 1814-16 Andrew Pickens 1816-18 John Geddes 1818-20 Thomas Bennett 1820-22 John Lyde Wilson 1822-24 Richard Irvine Manning 1824-26 John Taylor 1826-28 Stephen Decatur Miller 1828-30 James Hamilton, Jr. 1830-32 Robert Y. Hayne 1832-34 George McDuffie 1834-36 Pierce M. Butler 1836-38 Patrick Noble 1838-40 Barnabas Kelet Henagan 1840 John Peter Richardson 1840-42 James Henry Hammond 1842-44 William Aiken 1844-46 David Johnson 1846-48 Whitemarsh Benjamin Seabrook 1848-50 John Hugh Means 1850-52 John L. Manning 1852-54 James H. Adams 1854-56 Robert Francis Withers Allston 1856-58 William H. Gist 1858-60 Francis W. Pickens 1860-62 Milledge Luke Bonham 1862-64 Andrew Gordon Magrath 1864-65 Benjamin Franklin Perry 1865 James L. Orr 1865-68 Robert Kingston Scott 1868-72 Franklin J. Moses, Jr. 1872-74 D. H. Chamberlain 1874-76 Wade Hampton 1876-79 William Dunlap Simpson 1879-80 Thomas Bothwell Jeter 1880 Johnson Hagood 1880-82 Hugh Smith Thompson 1882-86 John C. Sheppard 1886 John Peter Richardson 1886-90 Benjamin R. Tillman 1890-94 John Gary Evans 1894-97 William Haselden Ellerbe 1897-99 Miles B. McSweeney 1899-1903 D. C. Heyward 1903-07 Martin Frederick Ansel 1907-11 Coleman L. Blease 1911-15 Charles Aurelius Smith 1915 Richard I. Manning 1915-19 Robert A. Cooper 1919-22 Wilson Godfrey Harvey 1922-23 Thomas G. McLeod 1923-27 John G. Richards 1927-31 Ibra C. Blackwood 1931-35 Olin D. Johnston 1935-39 Burnet R. Maybank 1939-41 J. E. Harley 1941-42 R. M. Jefferies 1942-43 Olin D. Johnston 1943-45 Ransome Judson Williams 1945-47 Strom Thurmond 1947-51 James F. Byrnes 1951-55 George Bell Timmerman, Jr. 1955-59 Ernest F. Hollings 1959-63 Donald S. Russell 1963-65 Robert E. McNair 1965-71 John C. West 1971-75 James B. Edwards 1975-79 Richard W. Riley 1979-87 Carroll A. Campbell, Jr. 1987-95 David M. Beasley 1995-99 Jim Hodges 1999-2003 Mark Sanford 2003-11 Nikki Haley 2011-17 Henry D. McMaster 2017-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1800 Jan 23: Edward Rutledge, died in office.
  • 1840: James Henry Hammond, defeated.
  • 1840 Apr 7: Patrick Noble, died in office.
  • 1865: Wade Hampton, defeated.
  • 1868: William D. Porter, defeated.
  • 1870: R. B. Carpenter, defeated.
  • 1872: Reuben Tomlinson, defeated.
  • 1874: John T. Green, defeated.
  • 1876: D. H. Chamberlain, defeated.
  • 1882: John Doby Kennedy, defeated.
  • 1899 Jun 2: William Haselden Ellerbe, died in office.
  • 1902: W. Jasper Talbert, defeated for nomination; Martin Frederick Ansel, defeated; W. H. Timmerman, defeated.
  • 1908 Aug 25: Martin Frederick Ansel (Dem), nominated; Coleman L. Blease (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1912 Nov 5: Coleman L. Blease (Dem), elected; R. B. Britton (Socialist), defeated.
  • 1914 Nov 3: Richard I. Manning (Dem), elected; R. B. Britton (Socialist), defeated.
  • 1915 Jan 14: Coleman L. Blease, resigned.
  • 1916 Nov 7: Richard I. Manning (Dem), elected; Coleman L. Blease (Independent Democratic), defeated; J. C. Gibbes (Socialist), defeated; J. M. Cantey (Progressive), defeated.
  • 1918 Nov 5: Robert A. Cooper (Dem), elected unopposed.
  • 1920 Nov 2: Robert A. Cooper (Dem), elected unopposed.
  • 1922 Nov 7: Thomas G. McLeod (Dem), elected unopposed.
  • 1924 Nov 4: Thomas G. McLeod (Dem), elected unopposed.
  • 1926 Nov 2: John G. Richards (Dem), elected unopposed.
  • 1930 Nov 4: Ibra C. Blackwood (Dem), elected unopposed.
  • 1938 Nov 8: Joseph A. Tolbert (Rep), defeated.
  • 1942 Feb 27: J. E. Harley, died in office.
  • 1950: Thomas H. Pope (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1970: Albert Watson, defeated.
  • 1974: W. J. Bryan Dorn (Dem), defeated.
  • 1974 Nov 5: James B. Edwards, elected.
  • 1978: Edward Lunn Young (Rep), defeated.
  • 1986: Philip J. Lader, defeated.
  • 1994: Arthur Ravenel, Jr. (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1998: Jim Hodges (Dem), elected; David M. Beasley, defeated.
  • 2002: Mark Sanford (Rep), elected; Jim Hodges (Dem), defeated.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/SC/ofc/gov.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]