The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
York County
South Carolina

Politicians who lived in York County

  York County (no city given):
  York County, 1800-1899: T. K. Bates — William Carlisle Beaty — John Gaillard Black — Benjamin Franklin Briggs — William Bolivar Byers — Nelson Davies — J. A. Deal — Peter Garrison — Charles A. Green — James Franklin Hart — Adolphus Eugene Hutchinson — Iredell Jones — Benjamin Harper Massey — Gustavus Luther McNeel — John W. Mead — John L. Neagle — Patrick Joseph O'Connell — M. L. Owens — James A. Ratchford — William E. Rose — Henry S. Steele — William Howard Stewart — J. H. White — Daniel Williams — Isaac Donnom Witherspoon
  York County, 1900-1999: C. H. Albright — James Emit Beamguard — Quince Edward Brin — Isaac Johnston Campbell — Harold Kendrick Davis — W. M. Dunlap — Samuel Rufus Foster — Palmer Freeman, Jr. — J. Everett Hart — John Calvin Hayes III — Herbert Kirsh — James Everard Massey, Jr. — Samuel Brooks Mendenhall — Joseph Rodney Moss — Tim Setzer — William Howard Stewart — W. Lewis Wallace
  York District County (now York County): Robert Turner Allison — William Carlisle Beatty — Robert Clendenin — William Randolph Hill — Andrew Love — James Mitchell — Benjamin Person — John Samuel Sitgreaves — James Armstrong Whyte
  Catawba: Edward Cousar
  Clover: J. Clyde Ford — G. F. Hambright — J. D. Hambright — J. B. Harvey — A. N. Sifford — W. Herbert Smith
  Fort Mill: Elliot Close — Cindy H. Epps
  Fort Mill, York District County (now York County): Andrew Baxter Springs
  Guthriesville, York District County (now York County): Samuel Rainey
  Lake Wylie: Charles Hickman
  Rock Hill:
  Rock Hill, 1800-1899: Cadwallader J. Pride — William Blackburn Wilson, Jr.
  Rock Hill, 1900-1999: C. H. Albright — J. A. Black — W. M. Dunlap — Thomas S. Gettys — E. P. Gist — J. C. Hambright — Robert W. Hayes — T. W. Huey — J. E. Jerome — William McDow — Cadwallader J. Pride — J. Will Proctor — David G. Pugh — L. A. Raggio — George A. Watts — C. P. T. White — C. Harris Williams — G. M. Williams — W. M. Woodward
  Rock Hill, 2000-2023: Karen Brazzell — Joyce C. Knott — Glenn McCall — Linda McCall — John A. Presto
  Sharon: S. B. Pratt
  Tega Cay: Seanta Clark — Gregory Pauswinski
  York: W. R. Bradford — Bruce M. Bryant — David E. Finley — John H. Hunter, Jr. — Paul G. McCorkle — J. Lewis Moss — J. Lewis Moss, Jr. — John M. Spratt — John M. Spratt, Jr. — Evelyn Wallace — W. Lewis Wallace
  Yorkville (now York): David E. Finley — M. M. Moore — Alexander S. Wallace
  Yorkville, York District County (now York, York County): Archibald Ingram Barron — William Smith — William Blackburn Wilson
   See also South Carolina areas not assigned to counties.
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/SC/YO-lived.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]