The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Charleston County
South Carolina

Charleston County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Charleston County: [none currently in database]

Republican Party chairs in Charleston County (incomplete!): Samuel Eden Gaillard, 1874

Charleston County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1860, Charleston and Baltimore: George N. Reynolds — James Simons — Thomas Y. Simons
   1876, St. Louis: John F. Ficken — Michael Patrick O'Connor
   1888, St. Louis: F. W. Dawson
   1904, St. Louis: R. Goodwyn Rhett
   1912, Baltimore: Richard S. Whaley
   1916, St. Louis: Philip H. Gadsden — Tristram T. Hyde — Huger Sinkler
   1924, New York: N. B. Barnwell — B. F. McLeod
   1928, Houston: Theodore D. Jervey — G. J. Knobeloch
   1936, Philadelphia: William F. Burgeson — Burnet R. Maybank — Thomas S. McMillan — L. Mendel Rivers — Huger Sinkler
   1940, Chicago: Henry W. Lockwood — Burnet R. Maybank — Clara G. McMillan — Cotesworth P. Means — J. A. Von Dohlen
   1944, Chicago: Henry W. Lockwood — Burnet R. Maybank — L. Mendel Rivers
   1948, Philadelphia: Robert McC. Figg — William C. Morrison
   1952, Chicago: Robert McC. Figg, Jr. — Burnet R. Maybank — William McG. Morrison — Mrs. George Paul — Edward K. Pritchard — L. Mendel Rivers
   1956, Chicago: Ernest F. Hollings — Caroline S. Morrison — William McG. Morrison — Edward K. Pritchard — L. Mendel Rivers
   1964, Atlantic City: Thomas A. Hutto — O. T. Wallace
   1996, Chicago: Gloria Aslanidis — David Condon — Patricia Endel — Herbert Fielding — Waring Howe — Lane Hudson — Harriet Johnson — Kaye Koonce — McKinley Washington — Lucille S. Whipper
   2000, Los Angeles: Waring Howe — Kaye Koonce
   2004, Boston: Robert Ford — Waring Howe — Lane Hudson — Michael McCauley — Aaron Polkey — Jennifer Rison — Melissa Wideman
   2008, Denver: David P. Agnew — Tom Chorlton — Colleen Condon — Robert Ford — Waring Howe — Ilene Kahn — Wannetta Mallette — Joseph Riley
Republican National Conventions:
   1868, Chicago: James H. Jenks — Gilbert Pillsbury
   1872, Philadelphia: Edmund W. M. Mackey
   1884, Chicago: John M. Freeman — William N. Taft
   1896, St. Louis: R. C. Brown — William D. Crum — George I. Cunningham — R. H. Jenkins
   1900, Philadelphia: William D. Crum — George I. Cunningham
   1912, Chicago: J. Duncan Adams — Thomas L. Grant — George Gregory
   1916, Chicago: J. Duncan Adams — Thomas L. Grant — Gibbs Mitchell
   1920, Chicago: Gibbs Mitchell
   1924, Cleveland: F. R. Blanchard — J. D. E. Meyer
   1928, Kansas City: J. D. E. Meyer
   1932, Chicago: G. J. Cherry — Louis C. Fischer
   1936, Cleveland: H. E. Feaster — J. D. E. Meyer
   1940, Philadelphia: R. E. Brogdon — Mrs. John E. Messervy — Mrs. R. Pinckney Tucker — W. P. Whepley
   1944, Chicago: Elizabeth P. Cherry — J. Bates Gerald
   1948, Philadelphia: Elizabeth P. Cherry — J. Bates Gerald — Mrs. John E. Messervy
   1952, Chicago: Elizabeth P. Cherry — J. Bates Gerald — Hans K. Koebig — Mrs. John E. Messervy — Paul M. Pridgen
   1956, San Francisco: Henry T. Gaud
   1960, Chicago: Henry T. Gaud — Malcolm D. Haven — Basil R. Kerr
   1972, Miami Beach: Lee Atwater — Mrs. Bayly Ebner — James B. Edwards — Angie Frasier — Micah Jenkins
   2004, New York: Charm Altman — Cynthia F. Costa
   2008, St. Paul: Charm Altman — Lin C. Bennett — Robert W. Harrell, Jr. — Mark Foster Hartley — Cyndi Campsen Mosteller — Mary Pearson
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/SC/CH-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]