The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Anderson County
South Carolina

Politicians who lived in Anderson County

  Anderson County (no city given):
  Anderson County, 1800-1899: Joshua Whitner Ashley — J. E. Breazeale — John Robert Cochran — Baylis Franklin Crayton — J. P. Glenn — L. D. Harris — Samuel Johnson — John Brown Moore — N. J. Newell — William Perry — G. E. Prince — J. P. Reid — John H. Reid — D. H. Russell — J. M. Sullivan — John Wilson
  Anderson County, 1900-1999: Joshua Whitner Ashley — Cebron Daniel Chamblee — Milford June Cooper — Tom J. Ervin — Rufus Woodruff Fant, Jr. — Raymond Love Gamble — Thomas Edmund Garrison, Jr. — George Benjamin Greene — Patrick Bradley Harris — Milford Edgar McDonald — William Plumer Nicholson — John Christopher Pracht IV — George Washington Sullivan
  Anderson, 1800-1899: William F. Barr — John R. Cochran, Jr. — J. A. Hoyt — Edwards Bobo Murray — Milton P. Tribble
  Anderson, 1900-1999: G. Ross Anderson, Jr. — M. L. Bonham — E. B. Churchwell — Ernest F. Cochran — John R. Cochran, Jr. — John R. Cochran III — Richard L. Copeland — Percy C. Crayton — Claude I. Dawson — Oscar H. Doyle — Albert Fant — Rufus H. Gaines — Wilton E. Hall — R. Dean Harbert — L. W. Harris — Thomas E. Howard — Ed Huthnance — Olin D. Johnston — William C. Johnston — Henry S. Jordan — C. E. Kimsey — William Laughlin — Edwin C. McCants — Carrie McPatrick — O. B. Menees, Sr. — E. D. Parthemos — James N. Pearman — W. I. Peek — James Burriss Pruitt — J. B. Quarles — Leon L. Rice — L. C. Richardson — John Rouse — John Clarence Taylor — Beatrice Thompson — Milton P. Tribble — Julius Wannamaker — Thomas Franklin Watkins — John E. Wigington
  Anderson, 2000-2023: Rick Lee Adkins — Susan Aiken — Don C. Bowen — Henry S. Jordan — Wilhelmina R. Rhoe — David Vandiver — Bob Waldrep
  Anderson Court House (now Anderson): Grace G. Cochran — W. Walker Russell — Charles W. Webb — Elizabeth F. Webb — Mary Williamson
  Anderson Court House, Anderson District County (now Anderson, Anderson County): George W. Fant — Van A. Lawhon — James L. Orr — Joseph Pinckney Reed — Edmund Webb — Micajah Webb — Joseph Newton Whitner
  Belton: John E. Boulware — Frank K. Breazeale — William C. Brown — W. Clarence Clinkscales — Ballard D. Dean — M. H. Gassaway — James E. Horton — Asbury C. Latimer — Jonathan B. Lewis — Howard A. Littlejohn — Bessie W. Martin — Robert Redus Martin — James K. Phillips — Richard B. Poore — Clyde Shirley — Mary Strickland — Andrew J. Stringer — Fannie Sutherland — John N. Sutherland — A. Newton Todd — Milton P. Tribble
  Pendleton: Warren R. Davis — John Gaillard — L. C. Richardson
  Pendleton, Pendleton District County (now Anderson County): Richard Franklin Simpson
  Sandy Springs: J. B. Douthit, Jr. — J. B. Lawson
  Williamston: B. B. Gossett
  Williamston, Anderson District County (now Anderson County): B. F. Mauldin
   See also South Carolina areas not assigned to counties.
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/SC/AN-lived.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]