The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Rhode Island: House Speakers

Speakers of the Rhode Island State House of Representatives, 1797-2010 (May be incomplete!)
Archibald Crary 1797 George Champlin 1797-98 William Bradford 1798-1802 Elisha R. Potter 1802 Constant Taber 1802-05 Isaac Wilbour 1805-06 Elisha R. Potter 1806-09 William Jones 1809-10 Nathaniel Hazard 1810 William Jones 1810-11 William Hunter 1811-12 James B. Mason 1812-14 James Burrill, Jr. 1814-16 Benjamin Hazard 1816-18 Nathaniel Hazard 1818-19 James De Wolf 1819-21 Albert C. Greene 1821 Elisha Mathewson 1821 Albert C. Greene 1821-22 Elisha Mathewson 1822 Albert C. Greene 1822-25 Nathaniel Bullock 1825-26 Samuel W. Bridgham 1826 Nathan B. Sprague 1826-27 Job Durfee 1827-29 Joseph L. Tillinghast 1829-32 William Sprague 1832-35 Henry Y. Cranston 1835 Christopher Allen 1835-36 Samuel Y. Atwell 1836-37 George Curtis 1837-39 Henry Y. Cranston 1839-41 Charles Jackson 1841-42 Richard K. Randolph 1842 Alfred Bosworth 1842-44 Samuel Ames 1844-45 George G. King 1845-46 Robert B. Cranston 1846-47 William S. Patten 1847-48 Sylvester G. Shearman 1848-49 James C. Hidden 1849-51 Alfred Bosworth 1851-53 Thomas Steere 1853-54 Benjamin F. Thurston 1854 Henry Y. Cranston 1854 Sylvester G. Shearman 1854-55 Henry Y. Cranston 1855 Benjamin Fessenden 1855-56 Benjamin F. Thurston 1856-57 Sullivan Ballou 1857-58 Charles C. Van Zandt 1858-59 Wingate Hayes 1859-60 Caesar A. Updike 1860-62 Francis W. Miner 1862-63 Thomas Durfee 1863-64 Benjamin F. Thurston 1864-65 Alexander Farnum 1865 George L. Clarke 1865-66 Charles C. Van Zandt 1866-69 Benjamin T. Eames 1869-70 Amos Barstow 1870-71 Charles C. Van Zandt 1871-73 Edwin Metcalf 1873-74 Edward L. Freeman 1874-76 Nelson W. Aldrich 1876-77 Dexter B. Potter 1877-79 Henry J. Spooner 1879-81 John P. Sanborn 1881-82 Francello G. Jillson 1883-85 Ellery H. Wilson 1885-87 Charles E. Gorman 1887-88 George H. Utter 1888-89 Augustus S. Miller 1889-91 Adin B. Capron 1891-93 Franklin P. Owen 1893-94 Samuel W. K. Allen 1894-97 J. Edward Studley 1897-98 Frank E. Holden 1898-1901 James H. Armington 1901-03 Joseph P. Burlingame 1903-06 Arthur W. Dennis 1906-07 Roswell B. Burchard 1907-11 William C. Bliss 1911-12 Ambrose Kennedy 1912-13 Frank F. Davis 1913-15 Frank H. Hammill 1915-19 Arthur P. Summer 1919-20 William R. Fortin 1920-23 Philip C. Joslin 1923-27 Roy Rawlings 1927-33 William E. Reddy 1933-37 James H. Kiernan 1937-39 Hugo A. Clason 1939-41 Harry F. Curvin 1941-64 Alfred U. Menard 1964-65 John J. Wrenn 1965-69 Joseph A. Bevilacqua 1969-76 John J. Skiffington, Jr. 1976-77 Edward P. Manning 1977-80 Matthew J. Smith 1980-88 Joseph DeAngelis 1988-92 John B. Harwood 1993-2002 William J. Murphy 2003-10 Gordon D. Fox 2010-

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/RI/ofc/spkr.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]