The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Rhode Island: Lieutenant Governors

Lieutenant Governors of Rhode Island, 1799-2012 (May be incomplete!)
Samuel J. Potter 1799 George Brown 1799-1800 Samuel J. Potter 1800-03 Paul Mumford 1803-05 Isaac Wilbour 1806-07 Constant Taber 1807-08 Simeon Martin 1808-10 Isaac Wilbour 1810-11 Simeon Martin 1811-16 Jeremiah Thurston 1816-17 Edward Wilcox 1817-21 Caleb Earle 1821-24 Charles Collins 1824-33 Jeffrey Hazard 1833-35 George Engs 1835-36 Jeffrey Hazard 1836-37 Benjamin B. Thurston 1837-38 Joseph Childs 1838-39 Byron Diman 1840-42 Nathaniel Bullock 1842-43 Byron Diman 1843-46 Elisha Harris 1846-47 Edward W. Lawton 1847-49 Thomas Whipple 1849-51 William B. Lawrence 1851-52 Samuel G. Arnold 1852-53 Francis M. Dimond 1853-54 John J. Reynolds 1854-55 Anderson C. Rose 1855-56 Nicholas Brown 1856-57 Thomas G. Turner 1857-59 Isaac Saunders 1859-60 J. Russell Bullock 1860-61 Samuel G. Arnold 1861-62 Seth Padelford 1863-65 Duncan C. Pell 1865-66 William Greene 1866-68 Pardon W. Stevens 1868-72 Charles R. Cutler 1872-73 Charles C. Van Zandt 1873-75 Henry T. Sisson 1875-77 Albert C. Howard 1877-80 Henry H. Fay 1880-83 Oscar J. Rathbun 1883-85 Lucius B. Darling 1885-87 Samuel R. Honey 1887-88 Enos Lapham 1888-89 Daniel G. Littlefield 1889-90 William T. C. Wardwell 1890-91 Henry A. Stearns 1891-92 Melville Bull 1892-94 Edwin R. Allen 1894-97 Aram J. Pothier 1897-98 William Gregory 1898-1900 Charles D. Kimball 1900-01 George L. Shepley 1902-03 Adelard Archambault 1903-04 George H. Utter 1904-05 Frederick H. Jackson 1905-08 Ralph C. Watrous 1908-09 Arthur W. Dennis 1909-10 Zenas W. Bliss 1910-13 Roswell B. Burchard 1913-15 Emery J. San Souci 1915-21 Harold J. Gross 1921-23 Felix A. Toupin 1923-25 Nathaniel W. Smith 1925-27 Norman S. Case 1927-28 James G. Connolly 1929-33 Robert E. Quinn 1933-37 Raymond E. Jordan 1937-39 James O. McManus 1939-41 Louis W. Cappelli 1941-44 John O. Pastore 1945 John S. McKiernan 1947-50 John S. McKiernan 1951-56 Armand H. Cote 1957-59 John A. Notte, Jr. 1959-61 Edward P. Gallogly 1961-65 Giovanni Folcarelli 1965-67 Joseph H. O'Donnell, Jr. 1967-69 J. Joseph Garrahy 1969-77 Thomas R. DiLuglio 1977-85 Richard A. Licht 1985-89 Roger N. Begin 1989-93 Robert A. Weygand 1993-97 Bernard A. Jackvony 1997-99 Charles J. Fogarty 1999-2006 Elizabeth H. Roberts 2007-12

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1805: Paul Mumford, died in office.
  • 1928: Francis B. Condon (Dem), defeated.
  • 1930 Nov 4: James G. Connolly (Rep), elected; Thomas P. McCoy (Dem), defeated; Augustus A. Martin (Socialist Labor), defeated.
  • 1934: Henry M. Boss, Jr. (Rep), defeated.
  • 1938 Nov 8: James O. McManus (Rep), elected; Raymond E. Jordan (Dem), defeated; Grover C. Montgomery (Communist), defeated.
  • 1966 Nov 8: Joseph H. O'Donnell, Jr. (Rep), elected.
  • 1997 Jan 29: Bernard A. Jackvony, appointed.
  • 1998: Bernard A. Jackvony (Rep), defeated.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/RI/ofc/ltgov.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]