The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Rhode Island: House Speakers

Speakers of the Rhode Island House of Deputies, 1696-1797 (May be incomplete!)
Jonathan Holmes 1696-98 Joseph Jencks, Jr. 1698-99 Benjamin Newbery 1699-1700 Jonathan Holmes 1700-03 Jonathan Spreage 1703 Benjamin Barton 1703-04 Edward Greenman 1704 John Dexter 1704-05 William Wanton 1705-06 Benjamin Arnold 1706-07 John Wanton 1707 Joseph Jencks, Jr. 1707 James Greene 1707 Richard Arnold 1707-08 Joseph Jencks, Jr. 1708 William Wanton 1708-09 Simon Smith 1709 Abraham Anthony 1709-10 John Wanton 1710 William Wanton 1710-11 James Greene 1711-12 John Spencer 1712 Ebenezer Slocum 1712-13 John Wanton 1713 Thomas Fry 1713-14 Randall Holden 1714-15 William Wanton 1715 William Hopkins 1715-16 John Cranston 1716 William Wanton 1716-17 Thomas Fry 1717-18 William Wanton 1718 Nathaniel Sheffield 1718-19 William Wanton 1719-22 Thomas Fry 1722 William Coddington 1722-23 William Wanton 1723-24 William Coddington 1724 Thomas Fry 1724 William Coddington 1724-25 Thomas Fry 1725-26 William Coddington 1726 Jeremiah Gould 1726-27 Thomas Fry 1727 Job Greene 1727-28 Henry Bull 1728 Joseph Whipple 1728-29 John Spencer 1729 Samuel Clarke 1729 Thomas Fry 1729-30 Samuel Clarke 1730-31 Jeremiah Gould 1731-32 Samuel Clarke 1732 George Hazard 1732-33 Jeremiah Gould 1733 George Hazard 1733 Jeremiah Gould 1733 Samuel Clarke 1733-34 Henry Bull 1734 William Greene 1734 Samuel Clarke 1734-35 William Robinson 1735-36 Francis Willett 1736 Samuel Clarke 1736-37 Francis Willett 1737 Daniel Abbott 1737-38 Thomas Spenser 1738 Stephen Hopkins 1738-39 Francis Willett 1739 William Greene 1739 Stephen Hopkins 1739-40 Samuel Clarke 1740-41 Stephen Hopkins 1741 Joseph Whipple 1741 Stephen Hopkins 1741 William Robinson 1741-42 Stephen Hopkins 1742-43 John Potter 1743 Joseph Stafford 1743-44 Stephen Hopkins 1744 Peter Bours 1744-46 Jeremiah Niles 1746-47 Samuel Wickham 1747 Daniel Jencks 1747-48 Thomas Cranston 1748-49 Stephen Hopkins 1749 Joshua Babcock 1749-50 Thomas Cranston 1750-57 Benjamin Wickham 1757 Peter Bours 1757-59 Joshua Babcock 1759 Job Randall 1759-60 Thomas Cranston 1760-62 Daniel Ayrault, Jr. 1762 Philip Greene 1762-63 John Dexter 1763-64 Daniel Ayrault, Jr. 1764 William Bradford 1764-65 Richard Bailey 1765-66 William Bradford 1766-67 Metcalfe Bowler 1767 John Cole 1767 Metcalfe Bowler 1767-76 William Greene 1776-78 Joshua Babcock 1778 Stephen Potter 1778-79 Othniel Gorton 1779-80 William Bradford 1780 Welcome Arnold 1780 William Bradford 1780-86 Othniel Gorton 1786-87 William Bradford 1787-88 Othniel Gorton 1788 Joseph Stanton, Jr. 1788-89 William Bradford 1789-90 Joseph Stanton, Jr. 1790 Welcome Arnold 1790-91 William Bradford 1791-93 Welcome Arnold 1793 George Champlin 1793 Welcome Arnold 1793-95 Joseph Stanton, Jr. 1795 Elisha R. Potter 1795-97 Joseph Stanton, Jr. 1797 George Champlin 1797

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/RI/ofc/dspkr.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]