The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Puerto Rico: Resident Commissioners

Resident Commissioners to U.S. Congress from Puerto Rico, 1900-2017 (May be incomplete!)
Federico Degetau 1901-05 Tulio Larrinaga 1905-11 Luis Muñoz=Rivera 1911-16 Felix Cordova Davila 1917-32 José Lorenzo Pesquera 1932-33 Santiago Iglesias 1933-39 Bolívar Pagán 1939-45 Jesús T. Piñero 1945-46 Antonio Fernós-Isern 1946-65 Santiago Polanco-Abreu 1965-69 Jorge Luis Cordova=Diaz 1969-73 Jaime Benitez 1973-77 Baltasar Corrada-del Rio 1977-85 Jaime B. Fuster 1985-92 Antonio J. Colorado 1992-93 Carlos A. Romero=Barceló 1993-2001 Aníbal Acevedo=Vilá 2001-05 Luis G. Fortuño=Burset 2005- Pedro Pierluisi 2009-17

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1900 Nov 6: Federico Degetau (Partido Republicano Puertorriqueño), elected.
  • 1900 Nov 7: Manuel R. Gatell (Partido Federal), defeated.
  • 1916 Nov 15: Luis Muñoz=Rivera, died in office.
  • 1939 Dec 5: Santiago Iglesias, died in office.
  • 1940 Nov 5: Bolívar Pagán (Coalitionist), elected; Antonio Fernós-Isern (Popular), defeated; Miguel A. Garcia=Mendez (Unification), defeated.
  • 1944 Nov 7: Jesús T. Piñero (Popular Democratic), elected; Manual Font (United Parties), defeated; Augustin Fernández (Autentico), defeated; Francisco Grovas (Proletario), defeated.
  • 1968: Santiago Polanco-Abreu, defeated.
  • 1972: Jaime Benitez (Popular Democratic), elected.
  • 1976: Jaime Benitez, defeated.
  • 1992 Mar 4: Jaime B. Fuster, resigned.
  • 1992 Nov 3: Carlos A. Romero=Barceló (New Progressive), elected; Antonio J. Colorado (Popular Democratic), defeated; Victor Garcia San Inocencio (Puerto Rican Independence), defeated.
  • 1996 Nov 5: Carlos A. Romero=Barceló (New Progressive), elected; Celeste Benitez (Popular Democratic), defeated; Manuel Rodríguez=Orellana (Puerto Rican Independence), defeated.
  • 2000 Nov 7: Aníbal Acevedo=Vilá (Popular Democratic), elected; Carlos A. Romero=Barceló (New Progressive), defeated; Manuel Rodríguez=Orellana (Puerto Rican Independence), defeated.
  • 2008 Nov 4: Pedro Pierluisi, elected.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/PR/ofc/rescom.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]