The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
U.S. District Attorneys in Pennsylvania

U.S. District Attorneys for Pennsylvania, 1789-1801 (may be incomplete!)
William Lewis 1789-91 William Rawle 1791-99 Jared Ingersoll 1800-01

U.S. District Attorneys for Pennsylvania, 1801-1998 (may be incomplete!)
Alexander J. Dallas 1801-14 Charles Jared Ingersoll 1815-29 George M. Dallas 1829-31 Henry D. Gilpin 1831-37 John M. Read 1837-41 William M. Meredith 1841-42 Henry M. Watts 1842-45 Thomas McKean Pettit 1845-49 John W. Ashmead 1849-54 James C. Van Dyke 1854-57 George M. Wharton 1857-60 George A. Coffey 1861-64 Charles Gilpin 1864-68 John P. O'Neil 1868-69 Aubrey H. Smith 1869-73 William McMichael 1873-75 John K. Valentine 1875-88 John R. Read 1888-92 Ellery P. Ingham 1892-96 James M. Beck 1896-1900 James B. Holland 1900-04 J. Whitaker Thompson 1904-12 John C. Smartley 1912-13 Francis F. Kane 1913-19 Charles D. McAvoy 1920-21 George W. Coles 1921-29 Calvin S. Boyer 1929-30 Howard B. Lewis 1931 Edward W. Wells 1931-33 Charles D. McAvoy 1933-37 Guy K. Bard 1937 J. Cullen Ganey 1937-40 Edward A. Kallick 1940 Gerald A. Gleeson 1940-53 Joseph G. Hildenberger 1953 W. Wilson White 1953-57 G. Clinton Fogwell, Jr. 1957 Harold K. Wood 1957-59 Walter E. Alessandroni 1959-61 Joseph Leo McGlynn, Jr. 1959-61 Joseph S. Lord III 1961 Drew J. T. O'Keefe 1961-69 Louis C. Bechtle 1969-72 Carl Joseph Melone 1972 Robert E. J. Curran 1972-76 Jonas C. Undercofler III 1976 David W. Marston 1976-78 Robert N. DeLuca 1978 Peter F. Vaira 1978-83 Edward S. G. Dennis 1983-88 Michael M. Baylson 1988-93 Michael J. Rotko 1993 Michael R. Stiles 1993-98

U.S. District Attorneys for Pennsylvania, 1901-98 (may be incomplete!)
Samuel J. M. McCarrell 1901-07 Charles B. Witmer 1907-11 Andrew B. Dunsmore 1911-13 Rogers L. Burnett 1913-21 Andrew B. Dunsmore 1921-34 Frank J. McDonnell 1934-35 Arthur A. Maguire 1935 Frederick V. Follmer 1935-46 Arthur A. Maguire 1946-53 Joseph C. Kreder 1953 J. Julius Levy 1953-57 Robert J. Harrigan 1957-58 Daniel H. Jenkins 1958-61 Bernard J. Brown 1961-69 John S. Cottone 1969-79 Carlton M. O'Mally, Jr. 1979-82 David D. Queen 1982-85 James J. West 1985-93 Wayne P. Samuelson 1993 David M. Barasch 1993-98

U.S. District Attorneys for Pennsylvania, 1801-1998 (may be incomplete!)
James Hamilton 1801-18 Andrew Stewart 1818-21 Alexander Breckenridge 1821-30 George W. Buchanan 1830-32 Benjamin Patton, Jr. 1832-39 John P. Anderson 1839-41 Cornelius Darragh 1841-44 William O'Hara Robinson 1844-45 John L. Dawson 1845-50 J. Bowman Sweitzer 1850-53 Charles Shaler 1853-57 Richard B. Roberts 1857-61 Robert B. Carnahan 1861-70 Henry B. Swope 1870-74 David Reed 1874-76 Henry H. McCormick 1876-80 William A. Stone 1880-86 George A. Allen 1886-89 Walter Lyon 1889-93 Harry A. Hall 1893-97 Stephen C. McCandless 1893 Daniel B. Heiner 1897-1902 James S. Young 1902-05 John W. Dunkle 1905-09 John H. Jordan 1909-13 Edwin L. Humes 1913-18 R. Lindsay Crawford 1918-19 Edwin L. Humes 1919-20 Robert J. Dodds 1920 Denis Joseph Driscoll 1920-21 Walter Lyon 1921-25 John D. Meyer 1925-29 Louis E. Graham 1929-33 Horatio S. Dumbauld 1933-35 Charles F. Uhl 1935-39 George Mashank 1939-41 Charles F. Uhl 1941-47 Owen McIntosh Burns 1947-49 Edward C. Boyle 1949-53 John W. McIlvaine 1953-55 D. Malcolm Anderson, Jr. 1955-57 Hubert Teitelbaum 1957-61 Joseph S. Ammerman 1961-63 Gustave Diamond 1963-69 Richard L. Thornburgh 1969-75 Blair A. Griffith 1975-78 Robert J. Cindrich 1978-81 J. Alan Johnson 1981-88 Charles D. Sheehy 1988 Tom Corbett 1989-93 Frederick W. Thieman 1993-97 Linda L. Kelly 1997-98 Harry Litman 1998
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/PA/ofc/usatty.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]