The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Pennsylvania: Chief Justices of the Supreme Court

Chief Justices of the Pennsylvania State Supreme Court, 1774-1996 (May be incomplete!)
Benjamin Chew 1774-77 Joseph Reed 1777 Thomas McKean 1777-99 Edward Shippen 1799-1806 William Tilghman 1806-27 John B. Gibson 1827-51 Jeremiah S. Black 1851-54 Ellis Lewis 1854-57 Walter H. Lowrie 1857-63 George Washington Woodward 1863-67 James Thompson 1867-72 John M. Read 1872-73 Daniel Agnew 1873-79 George Sharswood 1879-82 Ulysses Mercur 1883-87 Isaac G. Gordon 1887-89 Edward M. Paxson 1889-93 James P. Sterrett 1893-99 Henry Green 1900 J. Brewster McCollum 1900-03 James T. Mitchell 1903-10 D. Newlin Fell 1910-15 J. Hay Brown 1915-21 Robert von Moschzisker 1921-30 Robert S. Frazer 1930-36 John W. Kephart 1936-40 William I. Schaffer 1940-43 George W. Maxey 1943-50 James B. Drew 1950-52 Horace Stern 1952-56 Charles A. Jones 1956-61 John C. Bell, Jr. 1961-72 Benjamin R. Jones 1972-74 Robert N. C. Nix, Jr. 1984-96 Frank Montemuro as of 1993

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1827 Apr 29: William Tilghman, died in office.
  • 1887 Jun 6: Ulysses Mercur, died in office.
  • 1893 Feb 20: Edward M. Paxson, resigned.
  • 1900 Aug 16: Henry Green, died in office.
  • 1903 Oct 4: J. Brewster McCollum, died in office.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/PA/ofc/spcj.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]