The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Pennsylvania: Secretaries of Internal Affairs

Pennsylvania Secretaries of Internal Affairs, 1875-1968 (May be incomplete!)
William McCandless 1875-79 Aaron K. Dunkle 1879-83 J. Simpson Africa 1883-87 Thomas J. Stewart 1887-95 Isaac B. Brown 1895 James W. Latta 1895-1903 Isaac B. Brown 1903-07 Henry Houck 1907-17 Paul W. Houck 1917-19 James F. Woodward 1919-27 Genevieve Blatt 1955-66 John K. Tabor 1967-68

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1895 Jan 16: Thomas J. Stewart, resigned; Isaac B. Brown, appointed.
  • 1910: John J. Casey, defeated.
  • 1917 Mar 13: Henry Houck, died in office.
  • 1918 Nov 5: James F. Woodward (Rep & Washington), elected; Asher R. Johnson (Dem), defeated; Thomas H. Hamilton (Prohibition), defeated; William Adams (Socialist), defeated; Jerome C. Reis (Single Tax), defeated.
  • 1922 Nov 7: James F. Woodward (Rep), elected; A. Marshall Thompson (Dem), defeated; Charles I. Dunbar (Progressive), defeated; Ella Broomell (Prohibition), defeated; Mary Winsor (Socialist), defeated; Lewis Ryan (Single Tax), defeated; Thomas E. North (Industrial), defeated.
  • 1926 Nov 2: James F. Woodward (Rep & Labor), elected; John Murphy (Dem), defeated; Elizabeth M. Sherman (Prohibition), defeated; William J. Van Essen (Socialist), defeated; Max Jenkins (Workers), defeated; Sarah W. Dix (Commonwealth Land), defeated.
  • 1930 Nov 4: Philip H. Dewey (Rep), elected; Lucy D. Winston (Dem), defeated; Frank Note (Communist), defeated; Fred W. Litten (Prohibition), defeated; David Rinne (Socialist), defeated.
  • 1934 Nov 6: Thomas A. Logue (Dem), elected; M. Harvey Taylor (Rep), defeated; Franz E. Daniel (Socialist), defeated; Mabel D. Pennock (Prohibition), defeated; Dan H. Slinger (Communist), defeated; Charles W. Kane (Industrial Labor), defeated.
  • 1954 May 18: Genevieve Blatt (Dem), nominated unopposed.
  • 1954 May 18: Gaynelle M. Dixon (Rep), nominated; William S. Livengood, Jr. (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1954 Nov 2: Genevieve Blatt (Dem), elected; Gaynelle M. Dixon (Rep), defeated; Elizabeth Frazier (Progressive), defeated; Thomas Grady (Socialist Labor), defeated.
  • 1958 May 20: Genevieve Blatt (Dem), nominated; Michael A. Cannavino (Dem), defeated in primary; Lucian J. Ciletti (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1958 May 20: Andrew J. Gleason (Rep), nominated; Albert R. Pechan (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1958 Nov 4: Genevieve Blatt (Dem), elected; Andrew J. Gleason (Rep), defeated.
  • 1962 May 15: Genevieve Blatt (Dem), nominated unopposed.
  • 1962 May 15: Audrey R. Kelly (Rep), nominated unopposed.
  • 1962 Nov 6: Genevieve Blatt (Dem), elected; Audrey R. Kelly (Rep), defeated; Herman A. Johansen (Socialist Labor), defeated.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/PA/ofc/soi.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]